Current Affairs 6 August 2014

Published on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
Bhartiya Mahila Bank Ltd. awarded by Banking System Initiative Award-2014. The Chairman of Bhartiya Mahila Bank Ltd. is Usha Ananthasubramanan. Basically, this bank has working for economic empowerment of women in India.

Container Corporation of India Limited received Navratna Status granted by the Union Government. This corporation is the 17th Central Public Sector Enterprise to receive this status.
India ranked 8th in Global Rich List with 14800 multimillionaires. United States of America tops the list followed by China and Germany.

Reserve Bank of India reduced the Statutory Liquidity Ratio (SLR) by 50 basis points to 22% but the repo rate remains the same announced by the RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan.

RBI has cancelled the licence of The Vasavi Co-operative Urban Bank Ltd.

Bachendri Pal awarded by Bharat Gaurav Award organized by East Bengal Club. This is the highest award of East Bengal Club. Bachendri Pal was the first Indian woman to climb Mount Everest in the year 1984. It is important to know that Bachendri Pal is Gold Medalist in Mountaineering and also got Arjuna Award and varous other awards and achievements.

Malala Yousufzai won Liberty Medal for the year 2014 given byy National Constitution Center, USA. She awarded by this award for the outstanding work of basic education and human rights in Pakistan because in Pakistan girl education and human rights were restricted by Taliban. Malala Yousufzai also bageged Pakistan’s Civil Awards 2014.

Dr. Raghunath Anant Mashelkar honoured with Padma Vibhushan Award. He is a famous scientist. Padma Vibhushan is the highest civilian award of India. The Padma Awards are presented by the President of India.

Vyas Samman 2013, the prestigious award given in Hindi writing and poetry won by the famous Hindi writer Vishwanath Tripathi. This award was started in the year 1991 by K.K. Birla Foundation.

Sanjaya Rajaram won World Food Prize 2014. He is a famous scientist. The award has given by the World Food Prize Foundation. This award was started in the year 1986 by Dr.Norman Borlaug.

Kedar Nath Singh won Jnanpith Award 2013. He is a famous Hindi writer. The award has given by Bhartiya Jnanpith Trust founded in the year 1961. This award is given in the filed of excellence work in any Indian language.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu