RBI approved 10 entities to set up of Small Finance Banks

Published on Thursday, September 17, 2015
Recently Reserve Bank of India approved 10 entities to provide basic banking services. Lets know more about it.
RBI approval to 10 entities

Must read ==>> Payment Banks vs Small Finance Banks
  • On Wednesday, RBI as approved 10 entities to provide basic banking services to small farmers as well as micro industries.
  • The 10 entities (Details) are:
                  1)  Au Financiers (Jaipur)
                  2) Capital Local Area Bank (Jalandhar)
                  3) Ujjivan Financial Services and  
                  4) Disha Microfin (Ahmedabad)
                  5) ESAF Microfinance (Chennai)
                  6) Janalakshmi Financial (Bengaluru) 
                  7) RGVN (North East) Microfinance(Guwahati)
                  8) Suryoday Micro Finance (Mumbai)
                  9) Utkarsh Micro Finance (Varanasi)
                 10) Equitas Holdings 
  • The approval will be valid for 18 months. 
  • The central bank had received 72 applications for setting up small finance bank licences. 
  • These small finance banks can provide basic banking services like accepting deposits and lending to the small farmers, micro business enterprises, micro & small industries and unorganized sector entities etc. 
  • Last Month two new entities IDFC and Bandhan have been given complete banking licence and also granted approval to 11 entities for launching Payment Banks, by RBI.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu