Gurpurab Offer - Use Code GURPURAB2023

Register Now

Grand Slam Tennis Tournaments in 2014 - Facts

Published on Friday, August 29, 2014
Important facts about Grand Slam tournaments held in 2014

Wimbledon Open 2014 (Grass)
In Men’s final Novak Djokovic won Roger Federer
in women’s final Petra Kvitov of Czech won from Eugnie Bouchard of Canada
in Men’s Double Vasek Pospisil and Jack Sock won from Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan
in women’s Double Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci won from Timea Babos and Kristina Miadenovic
A Rosewater Dish trophy is given to women’s final winner and challenge cup to men’s winner
French Open (Clay) 2014
Played in Roland Garos, Men Single – Rafaeil Nadal of Spain won from Novak Djokovic of Serbia
Rafael Nadal won the Roland Garros crowns for the 5th time successively, and 9th winner and in total 14 grand slam winner, also known as King of Clay and retained 1st position
women single – Maria Sharapova won from Simona Halep of Romania
Maria Sharapova won the 5th grand slam already in 2012 she won all the 4 grand slams of the year. After this competition, she became No.5th player in rank.
Prize Money total Euro 18718000, Single winner-Euro 1250000, Mixed Double-Euro 100000 per team
Medal Trophies: Single Men-Coupe Des Mousquetairs, Women Single – Coupe Suzanne Lenglan, Mixed Double-Coupe Marcel Barnard
Australian Open 2014 (Hard)
Stanislas Wawrinka of Switzerland won Men’s final from Rafael Nadal
in women’s final Li Na of Chin won from Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia
In women’s double Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci won from Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina
In mixed double Daniel Nestor of Canada and Kristina Mladenovic (France) won from Sania Mirza and Horia Tecau (Romanian)
Australian Open is played in Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne and trophies Norman Brookes Challenge Cup and Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup are being given to Men’s and Women’s winner respectively.
US Open 2013 (Hard)
Rafael Nadal (Spain) won from Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
Serena William won from Victoria Azarenka
In men’s double the winners Leander Paes and Rodek Stepanek won from Alexander peya and Bruno Soares
US Open was played in Arthur Ashe Stadium, Flushing Meadows ground of New York. The winners in single got $1.9 mn and the runners got $ .95mn.

Share knowledge with your friends.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu