Maha Shivratri Offer - Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

People in News- January 2019 PDF

Published on Monday, February 25, 2019
People in News- January 2019 PDF


She has been appointed as Chief Economist of International Monetary Fund (IMF). Thus she became the first person to hold the position. She has taken over from Maurice Obstfeld. She is the second Indian to take up the position after Raghuram Rajan who held the position from 2003 to 2006.


The Indian Mountaineer became the world’s youngest person to climb the seven highest peaks and the seven highest volcanic summits across the seven continents of the world in seven years.
He is also the first person in India to conquer the seven mountain peaks and seven volcanic summits.

The mountains he climbed are :

1. Mount Everest (8,848 m) – Nepal
2. Mt Aconcagua (6,961 m) – Argentina
3. Mt Mckinely/Mt Denali (6,194 m) – USA
4. Mt Kilimanjaro (5,895 m) – Tanzania
5. Mt Elbrus (5,642 m) – Russia
6. Mt Blanc (4,808.7 m) – France
7. Mt Vinson Massif (4,892 m) – Antractica
8. Puncac Jaya/ Carstensz Pyramid (4,884 m) – Indonesia
9. Mt Kosciuszko (2,228 m) – Australia.

The seven volcanic peaks he scaled are : 

1. Ojos del Salado (6,893 m) – Chile
2. Mt Kilimanjaro (5,895 m) – Tanzania
3. Mount Elbrus (5,642 m) – Russia
4. Mount Pico de Orizaba (5,636 m) – Mexico
5. Mt Damavand (5,610 m) – Iran
6. Mt Giluwe (4,368 m) - Papua New Guinea
7. Mt Sidley (4,285 m) - Antarctica.


He was elected Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and also won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. He was also named captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year for 2018.


Eminent scientist and recipient of BharatRatna C N R Rao has been chosen for the first Sheikh Saud International Prize for Materials Research, given by the Centre for Advanced Materials of the UAE. He is the National Research Professor, Linus Pauling Research Professor and Honorary President of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research. He was awarded BharatRatna in 2014.


He is a Indian Fast bowler who recently became the fastest Indian to reach 100 ODI wickets. He achieved the feat in the match played between India and New Zealand in napier. Shami reached the milestone by taking wicket of Martin Guptill in his 56th match. Previously the record was on the name of Irfan Pathan who did it in 59th match.


She is a tennis player who recently won Australian Open (AO) 2019, her maiden AO Grand Slam singles title. She defeated Petra Kvitova of Czech Republic 7-6, 5-7, 6-4 in the summit clash. She also became the first Asian player to achieve the world number one ranking.


He is a tennis player who won Australian Open 2019 (Male). He defeated Rafael Nadal to win his 7th Australian Open Men's Singles title at Melbourne, Australia. He surpassed American legend Pete Sampras to elevate himself to outright third on the all-time Grand Slam title leaderboard.


She is an IPS officer on deputation to ITBP. She became the first woman IPS and ITBP officer to successfully conquer South Pole. She completed her journey with 7 members and 2 guides. They walked for 111 miles.


The Broadcast Audience Research Council of India (BARC India) has elected Punit Goenka MD and CEO of Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL) as the chairman.


He had sworn in as the first Chief Justice of Telangana High court. Prior to this he had been as the Chief Justice of High Court of judicature at Hyderabad for both Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.


He has taken oath as Chief Information Commissioner.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu