People in News: July 2019


Kalraj Mishra

  • He has been appointed as Governor of Himachal Pradesh by President Ram Nath Kovind.
  • He replaced Acharya Devvrat who has been transferred to Gujarat.

Anshula Kant

  • She was a managing director of State Bank of India.
  • She has been appointed as Managing Director and Chief Financial officer of the World Bank group.
  • She is going to be the first woman CFO of the bank.

Vikas Swarup

  • He is an Indian writer and diplomat.
  • Previously he has served as the official spokesperson of Ministry of External Affairs.
  • He has been appointed as Secretary in Ministry of External Affairs by Appointments Committee of Cabinet.

Ashutosh Gupta

  • He is a sales veteran having two decades of experience in IT and Software Services.
  • He has been appointed as new country manager for India operations.
  • He will replace Mahesh Narayanan.

Nalin Shinghal

  • He is an IRTS officer.
  • He has worked with Long-Range Decision Support group of Ministry of Railways.
  • He has been appointed as Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited.

Harideesh Kumar

  • He was Executive Director of Canara Bank.
  • He has been appointed as a Director of Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS).
  • He will serve for a period of three years.

Manoj Kumar Nambiar

  • He is the Managing Director of Arohan Financial Services.
  • He has been elected as Chairman of Microfinance Institutions Network.

P K Purwar

  • He is a Chairman and Managing Director of MTNL.
  • He has been appointed as CMD of Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited for a period of three months.
  • His period has started from 1st July.

Vivek Kumar

  • He is an Indian Foreign Service officer of 2004 batch.
  • He has been appointed as Private Secretary to PM Modi.

Sanjeev Kumar Singla

  • He is an Indian Foreign Service officer of 1997 batch.
  • He has been appointed as India’s next Ambassador to Israel.
  • He will succeed Pavan Kapoor.

Upender Singh Rawat

  • He is an Indian Foreign Service officer of 1998 batch.
  • He has been appointed as India’s next Ambassador to Panama.
  • He will succeed Ravi Thapar who was also an IFS officer.

BS Yeddyurappa

  • He is a Senior BJP leader in Karnataka.
  • He has served three unsuccessful terms of CM of Karnataka.
  • Recently he has taken oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Girish Bapat

  • He is a BJP leader from Maharashtra.
  • He has been appointed as Chairman of Estimates Committee by Speaker Om Birla.

Rajiv Kumar

  • He is a senior IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre of 1984 batch.
  • He has been appointed as Finance Secretary and will replace Subhash Chandra Garg.


Priya Priyadarshini Jain

  • She is a social entrepreneur and philanthropist.
  • Recently she has been awarded Indian Woman of Influence Award.

Sudarshan Patnaik

  • He is an Indian Sand artist coming from Odisha.
  • He is a Padma Shri award winner.
  • Recently he won the People’s Choice Award at sand sculpting festival in the US.

S Sowmya

  • She is a Carnatic music singer.
  • She has been chosen for Sangita Kalanidhi award.
  • She will be presiding 93rd annual conference of the academy that will be held in Dec 2019.

Azim Premji

  • He is a Chairman of Wipro.
  • US-India Strategic Partnership Forum recently announced that he will receive the Global Excellence Awards 2019.
  • He will be awarded for his significant contribution to strengthening economic ties between India and the US.


G Sathiyan, Anthony Amalraj

  • The duo is Indian pair in table tennis.
  • They won bronze at the World Tour Platinum in Australian Open.
  • They defeated Korean duo Lee Sangsu and Jeoung Youngsik.

Simona Halep

  • She is a Romanian tennis player.
  • She beat Serena Williams to win her first Wimbledon title.

Vijender Singh

  • He is an Indian professional boxer.
  • Recently he knocked out Mike Snider who is US professional in the US.
  • Thus he won 11th consecutive pro bout.

Novak Djokovic

  • He is a Serbian tennis player.
  • In the recently held Wimbledon, he beat Roger Federer winning his fifth Wimbledon title.
  • Thus now he levelled with Bjorn Borg as Five times Wimbledon winner.

Vinesh Phogat

  • She is an Indian wrestler who plays in the 53kg group.
  • She won her second consecutive gold at recently held Yasar Dogu International in Istanbul by beating Ekaterina Poleshchuk.

Kiran More

  • He is a former Indian wicket keeper batsman.
  • He has been appointed as interim coach of USA cricket team.

Hima Das

  • She is an Indian sprinter.
  • She won 5 gold medals in Nove Mesto, Czech Republic.

Shiva Thapa

  • He is an Indian boxer.
  • He became India’s first gold medallist at President’s Cup boxing tournament.

Rahul Dravid

  • He is a former Indian captain and wicketkeeper.
  • He has been appointed as head of National Cricket Academy.

Rohit Sharma

  • He is an Indian opening batsman.
  • In recently held Cricket World Cup he became the first batsman to score five world cup hundreds in single edition breaking the record of Kumar Sangakarra.

Smart Prep Kit for Banking Exams by Ramandeep Singh - Download here

Join 40,000+ readers and get free notes in your email


Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting. Follow us on Telegram. Search BankExamsToday