My Bday Offer- Use Code MYBDAY30

Register Now

People in News: September 2019 PDF

Published on Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Suresh Chitturi

  • Suresh Chitturi has been appointed as chairman of the International Egg Commission (IEC) for the next two years.
  • He is currently is the Vice Chairman and Managing Director of India’s leading poultry firm Srinivasa Farms.
  • He will be the first chair from Asia in the history of the institution.

Tapan Kumar Mishra

  • Freelance Tourist Guide, Tapan Kumar Mishra has been honoured with the National Tourism Award for the category of “Best Tourist Guide” for the year 2017-18 during the celebration of the World Tourism Day.
  • He belongs to Odisha and has been approved by the Union Ministry of Tourism as a freelance guide.

Kallie Puri

  • India’s Kallie Puri has been awarded with “India’s Most Powerful Women in Media” award.
  • She was awarded at the famed Confluence Excellence Awards.
  • She is the Vice-Chairperson of the India Today Group.

Thanu Padmanabhan

  • Physicist Thanu Padmanabhan received the M P Birla Memorial Award 2019.
  • He has awarded for his contributions to the world of cosmology.
  • He is a professor of Inter-university Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics in Pune.

Viju Khote

  • Veteran Bollywood actor Viju Khote passed away.
  • He was best is remembered for his role as Kalia in Sholay movie.
  • He worked in over 300 Hindi and Marathi films.

Air Marshal HS Arora

  • Air Marshal HS Arora has been appointed as the Vice Chief of Indian Air Force.
  • He succeeded Air Marshal RKS Bhadauria who took over as the Chief of Air Staff.
  • Air Marshal Arora was heading the Gandhinagar headquartered South Western Air Command of the Air Force.

Rupa Gurunath

  • Rupa Gurunath was appointed as the first woman president of Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).
  • With this appointment, she also became the first woman to head a state-level cricket body in the country.

Payal Jangid

  • 17-year old Payal Jangid became the first Indian to receive the Changemaker Award 2019 at the Goalkeepers Global Goals Awards 2019.
  • The Award was presented by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation at a ceremony held in New York, United States.
  • Payal belongs to Rajasthan and is the President of her village’s Children’s Parliament (Bal Panchayat).

Kristalina Georgieva

  • Economist Kristalina Georgieva has been selected as the new Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund.
  • She will succeed Christine Lagarde.
  • Kristalina hails from Bulgaria.
  • Kristalina Georgieva had served as the chief executive of the World Bank previously.

Adille Sumariwalla

  • Adille Sumariwalla has been re-elected as the member of the International Association of Athletics Federations council.
  • He was elected for a 2nd 4-year term.
  • He is currently the president of the Athletics Federation of India (AFI).

P.T. Usha

  • Indian track and field legend P. T. Usha has been presented with the Veteran Pin by the world athletics governing body.
  • She has been awarded for her contribution to the growth of the sport.

Nilesh Shah

  • Nilesh Shah has been appointed as the new chairman of the Association of Mutual Funds in India (AMFI).
  • He is the Managing Director of Kotak Asset Management Company (AMC).
  • He will replace Nimesh Shah who is the Managing Director, and CEO of ICICI Prudential Asset Management Company.

PM Narendra Modi

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi received the 2019 Global Goalkeeper Award.
  • He has received this award for Swachh Bharat Mission.
  • Global Goalkeeper Award is a “special recognition” by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Adam Harper

  • Adam Harper will get the SASTRA Ramanujan prize for the year 2019.
  • Mathematician Adam Harper is an Assistant Professor with the University of Warwick, England.
  • The prize carries a citation and an award of $10,000.

Amitabh Bachchan

  • Legendary Actor Amitabh Bachchan will be honoured with Dada Saheb Phalke award.
  • Dada Saheb Phalke award is the country’s highest film honour.
  • The Dadasaheb Phalke award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus), a shawl and a cash prize of ₹1,000,000.

Ponung Doming

  • Army officer Ponung Doming became the first woman Lieutenant Colonel of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • She is the first woman officer from Arunachal Pradesh to be elevated to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the Indian Army.
  • She is currently posted in Pune, Maharashtra.

Actor Govinda

  • Actor Govinda has been appointed as the brand ambassador of Madhya Pradesh.
  • He will promote the state’s traditions and tourist places.

Madhukar Kamath

  • Madhukar Kamath has been elected as the chairman of the Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC).
  • He will replace Hormusji N Cama.

RKS Bhadauria

  • The central Government has appointed Air Marshal RKS Bhadauria as the next Chief of Air Staff (CAS).
  • He was serving as the Vice Chief of the Indian Air Force (IAF).

Takehiko Nakao

  • Takehiko Nakao announced his resignation from the post of president of Asian Development Bank (ADB).

Robert O’Brien

  • Robert O’Brien has been appointed as the National Security Adviser of the United States of America.
  • He will replace John Bolton.

Sheikh Hasina

  • Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina received the Dr Kalam Smriti International Excellence Award 2019 in Dhaka.

Justice P Lakshmana Reddy

  • Justice P Lakshmana Reddy has been appointed as the first Lokayukta of Andhra Pradesh.
  • He is known for his campaign against corruption.
  • He will have tenure of 5 years.

Kapil Dev

  • Cricket legend Kapil Dev has been appointed as the first Chancellor of Sports University, Rai (Sonepat) by the Haryana Government.

Pawan Munjal

  • Pawan Munjal will be inducted in the Asia Pacific Golf Hall of Fame.
  • He is the Managing Director and Chairman of Hero MotoCorp.
  • He will be inducted for his support to “Golf” in India and around the world.

Navdeep Singh Suri

  • Navdeep Singh Suri has been honoured with First Class Order of Zayed II.
  • He is India’s envoy to the United Arab Emirates.
  • He has been awarded for his contribution to the development and strengthening of friendly relations and co-operation between India and UAE during his tenure.

Pradeep Dash

  • Noted Odia writer Pradeep Dash will be conferred with the 40th edition of prestigious Sarala Puraskar.
  • He will be awarded for his poetry work Charu Chibar O Charjya.

Jaideep Sarkar

  • Jaideep Sarkar has been appointed as the next High Commissioner of India to Lesotho.

Muhammad Yunus

  • Nobel Laureate Professor Muhammad Yunus from Bangladesh was conferred the ‘Lamp of Peace of Saint Francis’ award by the Vatican.

Sunil Arora

  • Chief election commissioner Sunil Arora took charge as chairman of Association of World Election Bodies (AWEB). The CEC will serve a two-year term till 2021.

IPS Vivek Kumar Johri

  • IPS officer Vivek Kumar Johri took charge as the Director General (DG) of the country’s largest border guarding force, BSF.
  • He replaced Rajni Kant Mishra.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu