New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

People in News: March 2020 PDF

Published on Thursday, April 09, 2020

B.P. Kanungo

  • B.P. Kanungo has been re-appointed as the Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India.
  • His tenure will be of 1 year. His last tenure ended on April 2, 2020.

Sameer Aggarwal

  • American multinational retail corporation, Walmart has promoted Sameer Aggarwal as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Best Price, Walmart India.
  • He will succeed Krish Iyer.

Ruchika Tomar

  • Ruchika Tomar has won PEN/Hemingway Award 2020.
  • Ruchika is an Indian-origin American author who has been awarded for her first novel named- “A Prayer for Travelers”.

Zoya Akhtar

  • Indian film director and screenwriter, Zoya Akhtar has been honoured with IIFTC Tourism Impact Award 2020 during the 8th India International Film Tourism Conclave (IIFTC).
  • The conclave was held in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
  • She has been awarded for her outstanding contribution to world tourism through her cinema.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan

  • Shivraj Singh Chouhan became the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh.
  • He took oath as the Chief Minister of state for the 4th time.
  • He has succeeded Kamal Nath.

Hillel Furstenberg & Gregory Margulis

  • Israeli-American Hillel Furstenberg and Israel and Russian-American Gregory Margulis have been awarded with the Abel Prize 2020.
  • Abel Prize is also known as the Mathematics Nobel.
  • The awarded has been given by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
  • They have been awarded for their “pioneering use of methods from probability & dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics”.
  • Furstenberg is from Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Margulis is from Yale University, USA.

Adnan al-Zurfi

  • Adnan al-Zurfi has been appointed as the new Prime-Minister of Iraq.
  • He will succeed Mohammed Allawi.

Ranjan Gogoi

  • Former Chief Justice of India (CJI) Ranjan Gogoi has been nominated to Rajya Sabha by President Ram Nath Kovind.
  • The president has appointed him by exercising his powers conferred by sub-clause (a) of clause (1) of article 80 of the Constitution of India, read with clause (3) of that article to the Council of States and to fill the vacancy caused due to the retirement of one of the nominated members.
  • Gogoi succeed K.T.S Tulsi.

Ravinder Singh Dhillon

  • Ravinder Singh Dhillon has been appointed as its Chairman and Managing Director of Power Finance Corporation (PFC).
  • He has been appointed by the Appointment Committee of the Cabinet headed by PM Modi.

Justice Bansi Lal Bhat

  • Justice Bansi Lal Bhat has been appointed as the officiating Chairperson of the National Company Law Appellate Tribunal (NCLAT).
  • He has been appointed for a period of 3 months.
  • He will succeed the first Chairperson of NCLAT, Justice SJ Mukhopadhaya.

Prashant Kumar

  • The Government has appointed Prashant Kumar as the MD & CEO of Yes Bank.
  • Prashant Kumar is a former Chief Financial Officer & deputy Managing Director (MD) of SBI.

Nita Ambani, Serena Williams & Simone Biles

  • Nita Ambani, Serena Williams & Simone Biles have been named in Influential Women in Sports list 2020 by Sports business network, iSportconnect.
  • Nita Ambani is the owner of Mumbai Indians IPL team.
  • Serena Williams is a famous tennis player and Megan Rapinoe is a footballer.

Debasish Panda

  • Debasish Panda has been nominated as a Director on the Central Board of Reserve Bank by the central Government.
  • He is the Secretary of Department of Financial Services.

Randeep Hooda

  • Actor Randeep Hooda has been appointed as the ambassador for representing species that run, fly and swim.
  • He has been appointed as an ambassador by the ‘Conventions of Migratory Species (CMS)” until 2023.

Byju Raveendran

  • Byju Raveendran along with 5 other Indians has been included in a new list of 115 Young Global Leaders (YGL) by the World Economic Forum.
  • He is Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of BYJU’S, which is a Learning App.

Amitabh Bachchan

  • Actor Amitabh Bachchan has been appointed as the first-ever brand ambassador of the IDFC FIRST Bank.

Jack Ma

  • According to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, Alibaba Group Holding Ltd. Founder Jack Ma has overtaken Mukesh Ambani to become the richest man of Asia.
  • He has a net worth of $44.8 billion.

PV Sindhu

  • Shuttler PV Sindhu has been named as the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the year 2019.
  • Former sprinter P T Usha was awarded with Lifetime Achievement award.

SS Deswal

  • SS Deswal has been given an additional chargeof the Director General of Border Security Force (BSF).
  • He is the Director General of Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

Praveen Rao

  • V Praveen Rao has won the 7th edition of Dr MS Swaminathan Award for the period 2017- 2019.
  • He is the Vice-Chancellor (VC) of Professor JayaShankar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU).

Nupur Kulshrestha

  • Nupur Kulshrestha has become the first woman to be promoted as Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Indian Coast Guard.
  • She joined Indian Coast Guard in 1999.

Sanjeev Nautiyal

  • Sanjeev Nautiyal has been re-appointed as the managing director (MD) and chief executive officer of SBI Life Insurance Company.
  • This approval is given by the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (IRDAI) and members of the Company.

Denys Shmygal

  • Denys Shmygal has been appointed as the new prime minister of Ukraine.

Daren Tang

  • Daren Tang has been elected the new Director General of World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO).
  • Daren is from Singapore.
  • He will succeed Australia’s Francis Gurry.

Jadav Payeng

  • Environmental activist from Assam, Jadav Payeng has named as 128th winner of Commonwealth Points of Light Award.
  • He has been honored or his exceptional volunteer service in environmental conservation.
  • He is also known as the “Forest man of India”.

Yvonne Farrell & Shelley McNamara

  • Ireland Architects Yvonne Farrell & Shelley McNamara wins The Pritzker Architecture prize 2020.
  • It is the 1st time an Irish citizen & a female combination won the prize.

Ajay Bhushan Pandey

  • Ajay Bhushan Pandey has appointed as the new Finance Secretary in Ministry of Finance by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) headed by PM Modi.
  • He will succeed Rajiv Kumar.

Sudhanshu Pandey

  • Sudhanshu Pandey has assumed additional charge as CMD of MMTC (Metals & Minerals Trading Corporation).
  • At present, he is the Additional Secretary at the Department of Commerce.
  • He will succeed Ved Prakash.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu