People in News: May 2020 PDF

Published on Monday, June 08, 2020

Thierry Delaporte

  • Thierry Delaporte has been appointed as the new CEO and MD of Wipro.
  • He took charge on June 1.

Sandip Mukund Pradhan

  • Sandip Mukund Pradhan has been appointed as the Director-General (DG) of Sports Authority of India (SAI).

Marcos Prado Troyjo

  • Marcos Prado Troyjo has been elected as the new President of the New Development Bank (NDB).
  • He will succeed Indian banker K V Kamath.
  • Also, SBI’s Anil Kishore has been appointed as the vice-president of NDB.

Narinder Batra

  • Narinder Batra has been appointed as a member of the Olympic Channel Commission.
  • He is the president of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA).

Rajesh Bhushan

  • Rajesh Bhushan has been appointed the head of an 11 member high-level committee to suggest reforms in the country's drug regulatory system for the faster drug approval process.
  • Rajesh Bhushan is the Officer on Special Duty to the Union health minister.

Carmen Reinhart

  • Carmen Reinhart has been named as the new Vice President (VP) and chief economist of the World Bank.

Jahnabi Phookan

  • Jahnabi Phookan has been appointed as the new National President of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) Ladies Organization (FLO).
  • She is the 37th national president and she succeeded Harjinder Kaur Talwar.

Abhas Jha

  • Indian Economist Abhas Jha has been appointed to a key position on Climate change and disaster management in South Asia.
  • He has been appointed by the World Bank.

Govinda Rajulu Chintala

  • Govinda Rajulu Chintala has been appointed as the new Chairman of National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD).
  • He has been appointed by the appointments committee of the union cabinet.
  • He has succeeded Harsh Kumar Bhanwala.

Dilip Oommen

  • Dilip Oommen has been appointed as the new President of Indian Steel Association (ISA).
  • His tenure will be for two years.
  • He has succeeded T V Narendran.

Moeketsi Majoro

  • Moeketsi Majoro sworn in as the new president of Lesotho.
  • He has succeeded Thomas Motsoahae Thabane.

Zubair Iqbal

  • Zubair Iqbal has been appointed as the new Managing Director (MD) of Jammu and Kashmir Bank.
  • His tenure will be of 3 years.
  • Zubair is the senior vice president of HDFC bank.

Manoj Ahuja

  • Manoj Ahuja has been appointed as the new Chief of Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). 
  • Manoj is an IAS officer and his appointment as CBSE Chief was approved by the Appointment Committee of the Cabinet.

Akhil Kumar

  • Akhil Kumar has been re-inducted into the Disciplinary Panel of National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA).
  • Akhil is a former Commonwealth Games gold-winning Indian boxer.
  • Earlier, Akhil was a part of the panel from 2017 to 2019.

Narinder Batra

  • Narinder Batra will remain as the president of International Hockey Federation (FIH) till May 2021.
  • His tenure was to end in October 2020.

Neeraj Dhawan

  • Neeraj Dhawan has been appointed as the Chief Risk Officer (CRO) of the Yes Bank.
  • His tenure will be of 3 years.
  • He has succeeded Ashish Agarwal.

Dia Mirza

  • The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has extended the term of Dia Mirza as the National Goodwill Ambassador for another two years.
  • Now, the Bollywood actress will be the ambassador till the end of 2022.

Mustafa Al Kadhimi

  • Mustafa Al Kadhimi was sworn in as the 6th Prime Minister of Iraq.
  • He has succeeded Adel Abdul Mahdi.

Manisha Singh

  • Indian-American diplomat Manisha Singh has been nominated as the US envoy to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) by the US President Donald Trump.
  • At present, Manisha is the Assistant Secretary of State for Economic and Business Affairs at the State Department.

Tarun Bajaj

  • Economic Affairs Secretary Tarun Bajaj has been appointed as a director on the central board of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).
  • He has succeeded Atanu Chakraborty.
  • Bajaj is an IAS officer of 1988 batch.

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

  • Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has been re-appointed as the chairperson of Parliament’s Public Accounts Committee.
  • He was reappointed by the Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.

D P S Negi

  • D P S Negi has assumed charge as Director General (DG) of Labour Bureau under the Ministry of Labour and Employment.
  • He has replaced BN Nanda.

Ashok Michael Pinto

  • Ashok Michael Pinto has been nominated as a representative to the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) by the US President Donald Trump.
  • IBRD is the lending arm of the World Bank.
  • Pinto is an Indian-American lawyer.

Shobhana Narasimhan

  • Professor Shobhana Narasimha has been elected as an International Honorary Member to the American Academy of Arts and Science.
  • Shobhana is the head of the Computational Nanoscience group from the Theoretical Science Unit (TSU) at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR).

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu