New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

People in News: July 2020 PDF

Published on Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Anil Kumar Jha

  • Anil Kumar Jha has been appointed as a member of the Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC).
  • EAC is a committee set up to deal with the violation of Environmental rules.
  • Jha is the former chairman of Coal India Ltd. (CIL).

Archana Soreng

  • Climate Activist of India, Archana Soreng has been named among the 7 members of António Guterres’s new Youth Advisory Group on Climate Change.
  • António Guterres is the Secretary-General of the United Nations.
  • The advisory group is responsible for advising on increasing global action on the climate crisis. 

Naveen Tahilyani

  • Naveen Tahilyani has been appointed as the new MD and CEO of the Tata American International Assurance (AIA).
  • He succeeds Rishi Srivastava.

Partha Pratim Sengupta

  • Partha Pratim Sengupta has been appointed as the new MD and CEO of Indian Overseas Bank (IOB).
  • His tenure will be till December 31, 2022, or further orders.
  • He has succeeded Karnam Sekar.

Sahil Seth

  • Indian Revenue Service Officer, Sahil Seth has been appointed as an honorary advisor for the BRICS Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCI).
  • He has been appointed to the post for the period 2020 to 2030.
  • BRICS is a group that includes Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

Mukesh Ambani

  • Mukesh Ambani, the Chairman and CEO of Reliance Industries Limited (RIL), became the world's fifth-richest man as per Forbes Real-Time Billionaires List.
  • Mukesh has an estimated wealth of 75 billion USD.
  • He is the wealthiest Indian man and the only Asian on the list of top 10 richest people.
  • He is the world’s 6th richest person as per the Bloomberg Billionaires Index.

Arun Kumar

  • Arun Kumar, DG of the Railway Protection Force (RPF) has been nominated as the Vice -Chairman of the Security platform of the Paris – based Union Internationale Des Chemins/International Union of Railways.
  • This decision was 96th UIC General Assembly.
  • Arun is an IPS officer of 1985 – batch.

Kannan CS Warrier

  • Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) has awarded Kannan CS Warrier with the 2019 National Award of Excellence for Outstanding Research in Forestry.
  • He has been awarded for releasing three productive clones of Casuarina equisetifolia, first of its kind in India that are suitable for salt-affected (sodic) soils.
  • He is a Senior Principal Scientist (Scientist F) at the Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding (IFGTB).

Greta Thunberg

  • Greta Tintin Eleonora Ernman Thunberg has won the 1st edition of Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity.
  • It has been awarded by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.
  • She has been her awarded for her ability to mobilize younger generations for the cause of climate change.
  • Greta is a 17 years old climate activist from Sweden.

Ramesh Babu Boddu

  • Ramesh Babu Boddu has been appointed as the MD and CEO of Karur Vysya Bank by the board of Directors of the bank.
  • His tenure will be of 3 years.
  • He has replaced P R Seshadri.

Ashwini Kumar Tewari

  • Ashwini Kumar Tewari has been appointed as the MD and CEO of SBI cards and payment services.
  • His tenure will be of 2 years.
  • He has replaced Hardayal Prasad.

Marianna Vardinoyannis & Morissana Kouyaté

  • Marianna Vardinoyannis & Morissana Kouyaté has been awarded the 2020 Nelson Mandela Prize.
  • Both of them were awarded in a virtual ceremony held on July 20.

Rose Christiane Ossouka Raponda

  • Rose Christiane Ossouka Raponda has been appointed as the first women Prime Minister of Gabon.
  • She has succeeded Julien Nkoghe Bekale.
  • She is the 6th Prime Minister of the country.

Shyam Srinivasan

  • RBI has approved the re-appointment of Shyam Srinivasan as the MD & CEO of Federal Bank.
  • He will now remain on the post till September 22, 2021.

Chandrikapersad “Chan” Santokhi

  • Indian-origin Chandrikapersad “Chan” Santokhi has been elected as the new President of Suriname.
  • Suriname is a country in South America.
  • He has succeeded Desi Bouterse.

N Chandrasekaran and Jim Taiclet

  • N Chandrasekaran and Jim Taiclet have received the US-India Business Council (USIBC) Global Leadership Award 2020.
  • N Chandrasekaran is the Chairman of Tata Group and Jim Taiclet is the CEO and president of Lockheed Martin.
  • Both of them also serve as a co-chair of the US-India CEO Forum.

Ashok Lavasa

  • Ashok Lavasa has been appointed as the new Vice-President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB).
  • Lavasa is the Election Commissioner of India.
  • He has succeeded Diwakar Gupta.

Ashok Kumar

  • Hockey Player Ashok Kumar has been honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award of Mohun Bagan Football Club.

Hemang Amin

  • Hemang Amin has been appointed as the interim CEO of BCCI.
  • He has been appointed after the resignation of former CEO Rahul Johri.

K Sivan

  • ISRO Chief K Sivan has been named as the recipient of the 2020 Von Karman Award.
  • It is the highest distinction provided by the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA).

Kezang D Thongdok

  • Filmmaker Kezang D Thongdok of Arunachal Pradesh has won the 10th edition Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2020.
  • He has been awarded for his documentary “Chi Lupo” which showcases the practice of collection of honey from the perched rocky hilltops.

Edappadi K Palaniswami

  • Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, Edappadi K Palaniswami has been honoured with Paul Harris Fellow recognition by the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International, Chicago.
  • The recognition is given to persons who work towards rendering efficient services in providing drinking water, sanitation, world peace, etc.

Lee Hsien Loong

  • Lee Hsien Loong became the third Prime Minister of Singapore after his party won the election.
  • Loong's People’s Action Party (PAP) won the election by winning 83 seats out of 93.

Injeti Srinivas

  • The Government of India has appointed Injeti Srinivas as the first Chairman of the International Financial Services Centre Authority (IFSCA).
  • His tenure will be of 3 years.
  • He is a former corporate affairs secretary and IAS officer.

Jayant Krishna

  • Jayant Krishna became the first India based CEO of the UK India Business Council (UKIBC).
  • He will succeed Lord Davies.

Jean Castex

  • Jean Castex has been appointed as the new Prime Minister of France.
  • He has replaced Edouard Philippe.

Siddhartha Mukherjee and Raj Chetty

  • Siddhartha Mukherjee and Raj Chetty have been named among the ‘2020 Great Immigrants’ honourees by the Carnegie Corporation of New York.
  • Siddhartha Mukherjee is a Pulitzer Prize winner while Raj Chetty is an Economics Professor at Harvard University.

Imran Khwaja

  • Imran Khwaja became the interim CEO of ICC after the former CEO Shashank Manohar stepped down.

Ravindra Jadeja

  • Indian All-Rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been named as India’s Most Valuable Player(MVP) of the 21st century by Wisden.
  • He has been named as the most valuable player for his contribution to both Bowling and batting.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu