Election Day- Use Code DEMOCRACY24

Register Now

People in News: January 2021 PDF

Published on Monday, February 15, 2021

Jay Shah

  • BCCI secretary Jay Shah has been elected as the president of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).
  • He has replaced Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief Najmul Hasan Papon.

R. S. Sharma

  • R. S. Sharma will be the new Chief Executive Officer of the Ayushman Bharat scheme or the Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana.
  • He will be replacing Indu Bhushan.

Bhawana Kanth

  • Bhawana Kanth is to become the first woman fighter pilot to take part in the 2021 Republic Day parade.
  • She was one of the first women fighter Pilots inducted into Indian Air Force in the year 2016.

Kaja Kallas

  • Kaja Kallas became the 1st woman Prime Minister of Estonia.
  • Before this. Kallas was a member of the European Parliament from the year 2014 to 2018.

LT GEN CP Mohanty

  • LT GEN CP Mohanty took over the new Vice Chief of the Army Staff.
  • He has replaced Lt Gen SK Saini.

Joe Biden

  • Joe Biden took office as the 46th President of the United States.
  • Joe is also the oldest US President to take the oath.
  • Kamala Harris also sworn-in as first female US Vice President.

Jayant Khobragade

  • Jayant Khobragade has been appointed as the next ambassador to the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) secretariat in Jakarta.
  • Khobragade is an IFS officer of the 1995 batch.
  • Presently, he is a joint secretary in the external affairs ministry.

Nikhil Srivastava

  • Nikhil Srivastava, an Indian Mathematician has won the 2021 Michael and Sheila Held Prize along with two others.
  • Nikhil is an Associate Professor at the University of California.
  • Other two winners are Adam Marcus and Daniel Alan Spielman.
  • They have been awarded for solving long-standing questions on the Kadison–Singer problem and on Ramanujan graphs.

Gita Mittal

  • Justice Gita Mittal has been appointed as the first woman chairperson of Broadcasting Content Complaints Council (BCCC).
  • He has replaced Justice Vikramajit Sen.
  • She is the former Chief Justice of Jammu & Kashmir High Court. She was also the 1st woman Chief Justice of J & K High Court.

Rajendra Kumar Bhandari

  • Rajendra Kumar Bhandari has been awarded Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar in the individual category.
  • It is an annual award given every year on January 23 on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa

  • Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa has been appointed as the President of Portugal for a second term.
  • He won 61.5% of the vote in the election, with 98.5% of districts.

Jayati Ghosh

  • Indian economist Jayati Ghosh has been named to the high-level advisory board on economic, social affairs by the United Nations.
  • She is an Economics Professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Ravi Gaikwad

  • Philanthropist Ravi Gaikwad has won the Nelson Mandela World Humanitarian Award.
  • He has been awarded for his absolute spirit and service of humanity.

Kiren Rijiju

  • Kiren Rijiju has been given the additional charge of the Ayush Ministry.
  • He is the Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs.

Siddhartha Mohanty

  • Siddhartha Mohanty has been appointed as the new managing director of Life Insurance Corporation (LIC).
  • He has replaced TC Susheel Kumar.

Ramesh Pokhriyal

  • Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank' has been awarded the "Sahitya Gaurav Samman" by the Hindi Writers Guild, Canada.
  • He has been awarded for his literary work.

Vishwavir Ahuja

  • Vishwavir Ahuja has been appointed as MD and CEO of RBL Bank.
  • He has been reappointed to the post for a second term of 3 years.

Yoweri Museveni

  • Yoweri Museveni has been re-elected as the President of Uganda.
  • This will be his 6th term as Uganda's President.

Sandeep Aggarwal

  • Sandeep Aggarwal has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Telecom Equipment and Services Export Promotion Council (TEPC).
  • TEPC is a body that promotes exports of telecom equipment and services.

Preeti Pant

  • Preeti Pant has been appointed as the chair of the committee to examine the adverse findings from the National Family Health Survey-5.
  • The committee has been set up by the Health and Family Welfare Ministry.

Sadyr Japarov

  • Sadyr Japarov has won the presidential elections of Kyrgyzstan.
  • He is the new president of the country.

RS Sharma

  • RS Sharma has been appointed the head of the empowered committee for the administration of Covid-19 vaccine.
  • He is the former TRAI Chairman.

G Kishan Reddy

  • G Kishan Reddy has been appointed as the head of the committee to protect the language, culture and land of Ladakh and ensuring citizen's participation in the Union Territory's development.
  • It is a 10-member committee.

Sanjay Kapoor

  • Sanjay Kapoor has been elected as the president of the All India Chess Federation (AICF).

Raghu Ram Pillarisetti

  • Raghu Ram Pillarisetti has been included in the Queen Elizabeth II’s 2021 New Year’s honours list.
  • He has been honoured with ‘OBE-Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire’.

Soma Mondal

  • Soma Mondal took over as the 1st woman Chairman of Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL).
  • Before this, she was the Director (Commercial) at NALCO.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu