Election Day- Use Code DEMOCRACY24

Register Now

People in News: February 2021 PDF

Published on Thursday, March 04, 2021

1. Anjali Bhardwaj

  • Anjali Bhardwaj is an Indian Activist who has been chosen for the inaugural “United State International Anti-Corruption Champions Award” by the US government.
  • She is among the 12 persons selected for the award.

2. Tetsushi Sakamoto

  • Tetsushi Sakamoto has been appointed as the first-ever Minister for Loneliness of Japan.
  • Japan has created a new portfolio in its cabinet amidst the increasing cases of suicide.

3. Manika Batra

  • Table Tennis player Manika Batra has won the 82nd Senior National Table Tennis Championship.
  • She defeated Reeth Rishya.

4. Preeti Sinha

  • Preeti Sinha has been appointed as the Executive Secretary of the United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF).
  • Preeti is an Indian-origin investment and development banker.

5. S. Theodore Baskaran

  • S. Theodore Baskaran has been awarded the Sanctuary Lifetime Service Award, 2020.
  • He is an activist, a naturalist, a historian, and a writer.

6. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala

  • Ngozi Okonjo Iweala has been appointed as the first woman head of the World Trade Organization.
  • She is a Nigerian activist.

7. Vijay Sampla

  • Vijay Sampla has been appointed as the chairman of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes.
  • Sampla is a former Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment and ex-BJP MP.

8. Natalia Vodianova

  • Natalia Mikhailovna Vodianova has been roped in as a United Nations goodwill ambassador.
  • She is a Russian supermodel, public speaker, entrepreneur, and philanthropist.

9. Dushyant Chautala

  • Dushyant Chautala has been re-elected as the president of the Table Tennis Association of India (TTFI).
  • He is appointed for a term of 4 years.

10. Sharad Kumar Saraf

  • Sharad Kumar Saraf has been appointed as the new president of Exporters body Federation of Indian Export Organisations (FIEO).
  • He has replaced Ganesh Kumar Gupta.

11. Swati Mohan

  • Indian-origin Scientist Swati Mohan was a part of the team of scientists who landed NASA Rover on Mars.
  • NASA's Perseverance Rover was landed on the red planet.

12. Upul Tharanga

  • Former Sri Lankan batsman Upul Tharanga announced his retirement from international cricket.
  • He made his international debut in the year 2005 in an ODI against West Indies.
  • He played 292 matches across formats and scored 9112 international runs.

13. Woochong Um

  • Woochong Um has been appointed as the Managing Director General of the Asian Development Bank (ADB).
  • He joined the bank in the year 1993.

14. Viruss

  • Punjabi singer-rapper Viruss has been roped in by the Reserve Bank of India in its public awareness campaign on cyber fraud.
  • The campaign also includes Viruss' popular 2017 Indie hit 'Bam Bhole'.

15. Seiko Hashimoto

  • Seiko Hashimoto has been appointed as the Tokyo 2020 President.
  • She was appointed after the resignation of Yoshirō Mori from the post.
  • She is the Olympic speed skating bronze medalist.

16. Usha Rao-Monari

  • Usha Rao-Monari has been appointed as the Under-Secretary-General and Associate. The administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

17. Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy

  • Andhra Pradesh CM Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy has been awarded the Skoch Chief Minister of the Year award.
  • The award was given on the basis of project-level outcomes in various States.

18. Ajay Mathur

  • Ajay Mathur has been appointed as the director-general of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).
  • He has replaced Upendra Tripathy.

19. Sama Lukonde Kyenge

  • Sama Lukonde Kyenge has been elected as the next prime minister of the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  • He replaced Sylvestre Ilunga.

20. Mario Draghi

  • Mario Draghi was sworn in as the new prime minister of Italy.
  • He is the former head of the European Central Bank.

21. Praveen Sinha

  • Praveen Sinha took over as the acting chief of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).
  • He replaced Rishi Kumar Shukla.

22. Sridhar Vembu

  • Sridhar Vembu has been appointed to the National Security Advisory Board (NSAB).
  • He is the founder of the technology company Zoho.
  • NSAB is led by NSA Ajit Doval.

23. S.N. Subrahmanyan

  • S.N. Subrahmanyan has been appointed as Chairman of the National Safety Council.
  • He is the CEO and Managing Director of L&T Ltd.

24. Jay Shah

  • Jay Shah took over as the new president of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).
  • Jay Shah is the BCCI Secretary.
  • He replaced Najmul Hasan Papon.

25. Ajay Singh

  • Ajay Singh has been re-elected as the president of the Boxing Federation of India.

26. Andy Jassy

  • Andy Jassy became the new CEO of Amazon Inc.
  • Jeff Bezos step down as the CEO of the company.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu