My Bday Offer- Use Code MYBDAY30

Register Now

People in News: March 2021 PDF

Published on Tuesday, April 06, 2021

1. Asha Bhosle

  • Singer Asha Bhosle will be awarded the Maharashtra State government’s highest honour- the Maharashtra Bhushan award.
  • She has been selected for the award for the year 2020.
  • The award was started in 1996 and recognizes the works of eminent persons of the state in different fields.

2. Prof. Sharad Pagare

  • Hindi writer Prof. Sharad Pagare will be awarded the Vyas Samman - 2020.
  • He will be awarded for his novel 'Patliputru Ki Samragi.'
  • The award is given to Hindi authors for their outstanding literary work.

3. Dr Vivek Murthy

  • Indian-American Dr Vivek Murthy has been confirmed to be US President Joe Biden's surgeon general.
  • He also served as surgeon general in the Obama administration.

4. Justice NV Raman

  • Justice NV Raman will be the next Chief Justice of India (CJI).
  • His name has been recommended by present Chief Justice of India SA Bobde.
  • Justice NV Raman will be the 48th CJI of the country and will take charge from April 24.

5. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

  • Bangladesh's Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman has been conferred with the Gandhi Peace Prize 2020 by the Indian Government.
  • Late His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said of Oman has been awarded the prize for the year 2019.

6. Mark Rutte

  • Mark Rutte became the new Prime Minister of the Netherlands.
  • He has won the 4th consecutive term and also became the EU's third-longest serving leader.

7. Samia Suluhu Hassan

  • Samia Suluhu Hassan became the first woman President of Tanzania.
  • She was sworn in as the country's first female president at the government offices of State House in Dar es Salaam.

8. Singhraj

  • Indian para-athlete Singhraj has won the gold medal in the 2021 Para Shooting World Cup.
  • The event was held at Al Ain in the UAE.
  • He defeated Uzbekistan's, Server Ibragimov.

9. C.A. Bhavani Devi

  • India's C.A. Bhavani Devi became the first fencer from the country to qualify for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics.

10. Mithali Raj

  • Indian cricketer Mithali Raj became the first Indian woman cricketer and second internationally to complete 10,000 runs across all formats.

11. Tirath Singh Rawat

  • Tirath Singh Rawat took oath as the new chief minister of Uttarakhand in Dehradun.
  • He was chosen as the leader of the Uttarakhand BJP legislature party.

12. Amitabh Bachchan

  • Actor Amitabh Bachchan has been honoured with the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Award 2021.
  • He is the first Indian to receive the award.
  • He has been awarded for his contribution to preserving India’s film heritage.

13. Anish Shah

  • Anish Shah will take over as the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer on April 2, 2021.
  • He will replace Pawan Goenka.

14. K. VijayRaghavan

  • The term of Principal Scientific Advisor K. VijayRaghavan has been extended by a year.
  • His contract was to end on April 2 but now has been extended till April 2022.

15. Mahinder Giri

  • Mahinder Giri has been honoured with the prestigious International Ranger Award for his contribution towards conservation.
  • He is a Range officer at Rajaji Tiger Reserve in Uttarakhand.

16. Soma Mondal

  • Soma Mondal has been elected as the new Chairperson of the Standing Conference of Public Enterprises (SCOPE).
  • She will take charge on April 1.

17. Saurabh Garg and Sanjeev Kumar

  • Senior bureaucrat Saurabh Garg has been appointed as the chief executive officer (CEO) of Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI).
  • Sanjeev Kumar has been appointed as the chairman of the Airports Authority of India (AAI).

18. Denis Sassou Nguesso

  • Denis Sassou Nguesso re-elected as the president of the Republic of Congo.
  • He has led the country for a total of 36 years.

19. Shyamala Gopinath

  • Shyamala Gopinath will head the Standing External Advisory Committee (SEAC) announced by RBI for evaluating applications for universal banks and small finance banks.

20. MA Ganapathy

  • IPS Officer MA Ganapathy took over as the new chief of the National Security Guard (NSG).
  • He was handed over the baton by Indo-Tibetan Border Police chief SS Deswal who was handling the additional charge of NSG since October 2020.

21. Harsh Vardhan

  • Union Health and Family Welfare Minister, Dr Harsh Vardhan has been appointed as Chairman of 'Stop TB Partnership Board'.

22. Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal

  • Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal have been awarded the 2021 Pritzker Architecture Prize.
  • They are the founders of French studio Lacaton & Vassal and the duo is known for their social housing projects and a dedication to refurbishing existing buildings.

23. Kapil Dev

  • Legendary cricketer Kapil Dev has been inducted into the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) as a board member.

24. Deepak Mishra

  • World Bank economist Deepak Mishra has been appointed as the next Director and Chief Executive of leading think-tank Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER).
  • He will replace Rajat Kathuria.

ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu