Gurpurab Offer - Use Code GURPURAB2023

Register Now

People in News: June 2021

Published on Friday, July 09, 2021

1. P. Sainath

  • P. Sainath was selected as one of the three recipients of the Fukuoka Prize 2021.
  • He is an Indian journalist and author of a book called “Everybody Loves a Good Drought”.
  • Sainath will receive the ‘Grand Prize’ of the Fukuoka Prize.

2. Professor Ajit Mishra

  • The Government has constituted an expert group to provide technical inputs and recommendations on the fixation of minimum wages in the country.
  • The Group would be chaired by Professor Ajit Mishra, director of the Institute of Economic Growth.
  • As per the Labour and Employment Ministry, the group, which is set up for three years, would also recommend on the national floor wage.

3. Anup Chandra Pandey

  • Senior bureaucrat Anup Chandra Pandey has been appointed as the Election Commissioner of India.
  • Anup Chandra Pandey is set to oversee the forthcoming assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand.

4. Antonio Guteres

  • The United Nations Security Council has recommended the reappointment of the present Secretary-General António Guterres for a second term, which commences from January 1, 2022.
  • This recommendation would now go for approval to the 193-member UN General Assembly.
  • António Guterres is presently the 9th UN chief and commenced his tenure in 2017.

5. Margherita Hack

  • Margherita Hack also called the “Lady of the Stars”, was a famous Italian astrophysicist.
  • Google honoured Margherita Hack with a doodle on her 99th birth anniversary.
  • She had also discovered the asteroid 8558 Hack, which was named in her honour.
  • She was the first female director of the Trieste Astronomical Observatory.

6. Justice N.K. Sodhi

  • The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) has re-constituted its Takeover Panel, under the chairmanship of Justice N. K. Sodhi who is the Former Chief Justice of High Courts of Karnataka & Kerala.
  • The panel has been constituted under regulation 11(5) of the Regulations, 2011 and the panel investigates matters related to exemption from the mandatory open offer that an acquirer needs to make to minority shareholders.

7. Rahi Sarnobat

  • Rahi Sarnobat clinched the 25m pistol gold medal at the shooting World Cup, being held in Osijek, Croatia.
  • It is India’s first gold at the tournament.
  • The player’s tally of 39 was just one short of the world record set by Hungary’s Veronica Major at the 2019 World Cup in New Delhi.
  • Rahi Sarnobat also won the Arjuna Award for Shooting.

8. Nithin Rakesh & Jerry Wind

  • Authors Nithin Rakesh and Jerry Wind won the International Business Book of the Year Award 2021 for the book “Transformation in Time of Crisis”.

9. Kuldiep Singh

  • Kuldiep Singh is appointed as the Director-General of the National Investigation Agency (NIA).
  • He is currently working as the Director-General of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF).

10. Nagraj Adiga

  • Nagraj Adiga of India elected as the Asia and Oceania Representative in the International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU) Executive Council for 2021-2021.
  • He was nominated to IAU Council by the Athletics Federation of India.

11. Supriya Paul

  • Supriya Paul authored the book “All you need is Josh: Inspiring stories of courage and conviction in 21st century India”.
  • She is the director and co-founder of Josh Talks.

12. Harsh Vardhan

  • Harsh Vardhan won WHO Director-General Special Award for Efforts in Tobacco Control.
  • He was awarded for banning E-cigarettes & heated tobacco products.

13. T V Narendran

  • T V Narendran has elected as the Tata Steel Ltd Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Managing Director (MD).
  • He will succeed Uday Kotak.

14. R K Sabharwal

  • RK Sabharwal has been honoured with ‘The Order of Polar Star through his excellency’.
  • He was awarded by the Mongolian President to recognise him towards the establishment of the first-ever oil refinery in Mongolia.

15. KK Shailaja

  • KK Shailaja is the former Health Minister of Kerala is awarded The Central European University (CEU) Open Society Prize for the year 2021.
  • The award is to recognise her attention in “determining management and community-based public health work, saving lives throughout the pandemic”.

16. Shafali Verma

  • Indian Women cricketer Shafali Verma (17 years old) is the 1st women cricketer to hit 3 sixes in a test match.
  • She was the youngest cricketer to represent India in T20 International.

17. Sumita Mitra

  • Sumita Mitra won the European Patent Office’s (EPO) European Inventor Award 2021under the non-EPO countries category.
  • She was awarded for her innovative dental filling invention using Nanotechnology.

18. Ebrahim Raisi

  • Ebrahim Raisi won Iran Presidential Election.
  • He was a former Iranian Chief Justice.

19. Upasana Kamineni

  • Upasana Kamineni is named the “Ambassador of Forest Frontline Heroes” by the World Wide Fund for Nature, India.
  • She is the Managing Director of Apollo Life (Lifetime Wellness Rx International Limited).

20. Ukhnaa Khurelukh

  • Ukhnaa Khurelsukh became the 6th President of Mongolia.
  • He is the former Prime Minister of Mongolia.

21. Girish Chandra Chaturvedi

  • Girish Chandra Chaturvedi is appointed as the Part-time Chairman of ICICI Bank.
  • He is currently the Chairman of the National Stock Exchange.

22. Arjan Kumar Sikri

  • Arjan Kumar Sikri is appointed as the Chair for Grievance Redressal Board by the Internet and Mobile Association of India.
  • He is the former Supreme Court Justice.

23. Tsitisi Dangarembga

  • Tsitisi Dangarembga wins PEN Pinter Prize 2021.
  • She is a Zimbabwean Novelist and known for her book “This Mournable Body”.

24. Anand Mohan Bajaj

  • Anand Mohan Bajaj is appointed as the Member of the Board of Securities and Exchange Board of India.
  • He will succeed Tarun Bajaj.

25. Satya Nadella

  • Microsoft appointed Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Satya Nadella as the Chairman.
  • He will succeed John Thompson who will become an Independent Director of Microsoft.

26. Yuvaraj Singh

  • Yuvaraj Singh becomes Brand Ambassador of PUMA Motorsport in India.
  • He is a former Indian Cricketer.

27. Aashish Chandorkar

  • Aashish Chandorkar is appointed as the Director at India World Trade Organisation Mission for a period of 3 years.
  • He is the 1st private person to be appointed in this post.

28. Choguel Maiga

  • Choguel Maiga is appointed as Mali’s New Prime Minister.
  • He succeeds Moctar Ouane.

29. Hitendra Dave

  • Hitendra Dave is appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of HSBC India.
  • He succeeds Surendra Rosha.

30. Virendra Nanavati

  • Virendra Nanavati is elected as a member of the International Swimming Federation Bureau (FINA)
  • He is the first Indian to be elected as a Bureau Member of the FINA.

31. Patrick Amoth

  • Dr Patrick Amoth is appointed as the World Health Organization’s Executive Board.
  • He succeeds Dr Harsh Vardhan (Union Health Minister of India) and he is from Kenya.

32. Adar Poonawalla

  • Adar Poonawalla is appointed as the Chairman of Magma Fincorp.
  • Currently, Adar Poonawalla is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Serum Institute of India.

33. Arun Kumar Mishra

  • Arun Kumar Mishra is appointed as the Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) of India.
  • He is the former Justice of the Supreme Court.

34. Jagjit Pavadia

  • Jagjit Pavadia becomes President of the International Narcotics Control Board.
  • She is a retired officer of the Indian Revenue Service (Customs).

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu