New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

People in News: July 2022 PDF

Published on Monday, August 08, 2022

1. K K Venugopal

  • Kottayan Katankot (K.K.) Venugopal is reappointed as the Attorney General (AG) of India for 3 months.
  • He is the 15th AG of India.
  • He succeeded Mukul Rohatgi in 2017 and served as the AG till now.
  • Venugopal is a Senior Advocate and he is appointed by the President of India, Ram Nath Kovind.

2. Eknath Shinde

  • Eknath Shinde was sworn in as the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra.
  • He has appointed after the resignation of Uddhav Thackeray.
  • Devendra Fadnavis is as appointed as the Deputy Chief Minister.
  • Eknath Shinde served as the Cabinet Minister of Urban Development and Public Works (Public Undertakings) in the Maharastra State Government between 2014 – 2019.

3. Bill Ready

  • Bill Ready will take the position of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Pinterest Inc.
  • He will replace Ben Silbermann who is the co-founder of Pinterest and served as the CEO for the past 12 years.
  • Bill is from Google and he is the present President of Commerce & Payments at Google.

4. Ravi Shastri

  • Indian Cricketer and Team Coach, Ravi Shastri has been appointed as the new ambassador for Fan Code.
  • FanCode is live content, sports statistics, and an e-commerce marketplace.

5. Shahid Kapoor

  • Bollywood actor, Shahid Kapoor has been appointed as the Brand Ambassador of
  • PokerBaazi is an Online Indian poker platform.

6. Tanuja Nesari

  • Tanuja Nesari was awarded the Ayurveda Ratna Award 2022 by the United Kingdom (UK) Parliament.
  • She is the Director of the All India Institute of Ayurveda (AIIA).
  • She was awarded for her contribution to the field of growth of Ayurveda at the global and national levels.

7. Sandeep Kumar Gupta

  • Sandeep Kumar Gupta is named as the next Chairman and Managing Director of GAIL (India) Limited.
  • He will replace Manoj Jain.
  • He has been Director for Finance of Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) since August 2019.

8. Sini Shetty

  • Sini Shetty takes the Crown of Femina Miss India 2022.
  • She hails from Karnataka and she won the 58th Edition of Femina Miss India World 2022.

9. Yair Lapid

  • Yair Lapid is appointed as the Prime Minister of Israel.
  • He has officially become the 14th Prime Minister (PM) of Israel.
  • He is replacing PM Naftali Bennett.

10. Gita Gopinath

  • Gita Gopinath was featured on the International Monetary Fund (IMF)’s “Wall of former Chief Economists”.
  • She becomes First Woman and 2nd Indian to feature on the Wall of former Chief Economists.
  • She is the International Monetary Fund (IMF) Chief Economist since October 2018.

11. Paritosh Tripathi

  • Paritosh Tripathi is appointed as the New Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of SBI General Insurance.
  • He succeeded Prakash Chandra Kandpal.
  • He was also the CEO of the SBI DIFC (Dubai International Financial Centre) branch in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE).

12. Maryna Viazovska

  • Maryana Viazovska becomes 2nd Woman to Win Fields Medals 2022.
  • She is from Ukraine and is a renowned Mathematician.
  • She currently works as a Professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland.

13. Kaustubh Radkar

  • Kaustubh Radkar is appointed as the brand ambassador of Garmin Ltd.
  • He is an Indian Triathlete and an Ironman Certified Coach.
  • Garmin Ltd. is a fitness segment.

14. Asit Rath

  • Asit Rath is appointed as the New Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Managing Director (MD) of Aviva Life Insurance Company India.
  • He succeeds Amit Malik.
  • He currently serves as the CEO of Prudential Myanmar Life Insurance.

15. Ajay Devgn

  • Ajay Devgn is appointed as the brand ambassador of Insecticide (India) Ltd (IIL).
  • It is a crop protection firm.
  • Ajay Devgn is a Bollywood actor and he is tied up to boost the usage of agrochemicals in farming.

16. Jayanti Prasad

  • Jayanti Prasad takes charge as a Whole-time Member of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI).
  • He has served as the Chief Auditor at the United Nations for six years.

17. Ashish Chauhan

  • Ashish Chauhan is appointed as the New Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the National Stock Exchange of India Ltd (NSE).
  • He will succeed Vikram Limaye.
  • He currently serves as the Chancellor of the University of Allahabad.

18. Ranil Wickremesinghe

  • Ranil Wickremesinghe is appointed as the new Interim President of Sri Lanka.
  • He succeeded after the resignation of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.
  • Wickremesinghe belongs to the United National Party.

19. Meena Hemchandra

  • Meena Hemchandra is appointed as the part-time chairman of Karur Vysya Bank.
  • She held the position of an additional director of Karur Vysya Bank.

20. Madhulika Bhaskar

  • Madhulika Bhaskar is appointed as the Chairman-cum-Managing Director (CMD) of New Indian Assurance Company Ltd.
  • She was appointed for the term of 3 months.
  • She succeeded Atul Sahai.

21. Bajram Begaj

  • Bajram Begaj is sworn in as the new President of Albania.
  • He succeeded former President Ilir Meta.
  • He is a retired Military Commander and become the 8th President of Albania.

22. Indermit Gill

  • Indermit Gill is appointed as the Chief Economist of the World Bank Group (WBG).
  • He is also appointed as the Senior Vice President for development economics.
  • He is the 2nd Indian to be appointed in this post after Kaushik Basu.

23. Sheikh Al Ahmad Al Sabah

  • Ahmad Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah is the New Prime Minister of Kuwait.
  • He replaced Sheikh Sabah Khalid Al-Hamad Al-Sabah.
  • He was appointed by the Kuwait Emir.

24. Lleyton Hewitt

  • Lleyton Hewitt was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2021.
  • He is the 34th Australian to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.
  • He is the former Association of Tennis Professionals' number one player and two times Grand Slam Champion.

25. Kaushik Rajshekara

  • Kaushik Rajshekara wins Global Energy Prize 2022.
  • He is an Indian-American Professor.
  • He was awarded for his contribution to transportation electrification and energy efficiency technologies while reducing power generation emissions.

26. Draupadi Murmu

  • Draupadi Murmu is elected as India’s 15th President.
  • She is the first-ever tribal and second-ever woman President of India.
  • She is the former Governor of Jharkhand.

27. Dinesh Gunawardena

  • Dinesh Gunawardena is appointed as the 15th Prime Minister of Sri Lanka.
  • He was sworn in the presence of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.
  • He is the 73 years old Senior Sri Lanka Member of Parliament.

28. Michelle Poonawalla

  • Michelle Poonawalla has received the Shiromani Award.
  • She was awarded for her contribution in the field of Art.
  • She is an Artist and Businesswoman.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu