New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

People in News: August 2022 PDF

Published on Wednesday, September 14, 2022

1. Savitri Jindal

  • Savitri Jindal becomes Asia’s Richest Woman according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index.
  • She has a USD 11.3 Billion fortune in the Jindal Group.
  • She is the 10th Richest person in India.

2. Akshaya Moondra

  • Vodafone Idea Limited (VIL) appointed Akshaya Moondra as its Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
  • Akshaya will succeed Ravinder Takkar.
  • He is the current Chief Financial Officer of Vodafone Idea Limited (VIL).

3. Nakul Jain

  • Paytm’s Payments Services Limited appointed Nakul Jain as its Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
  • He has succeeded Praveen Sharma.
  • Nakul previously served as an executive in Standard Chartered Bank.

4. Auguste Tano Kouame

  • Auguste Tano Kouame took charge as the World Bank Country Director for India.
  • He has replaced Junaid Kamal Ahmad.
  • He previously served as the World Bank’s Country Director for Turkey.

5. Inderjit Camotra

  • Unity Small Finance Bank Limited appointed Inderjit Camotra as its Managing Director(MD) and Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
  • He earlier served as an Executive Director with Centrum Financial Services Ltd.

6. Jagdeep Dhankhar

  • Jagdeep Dhankhar was elected as the 14th Vice President of India.
  • He will succeed M Venkaiah Naidu.
  • He is from Rajasthan District and served as the Governor of West Bengal in 2019.
  • He is from BJP.

7. Vishwanathan Anand

  • Vishwanathan Anand is appointed as the new FIDE Deputy President.
  • He got 157/179 in National Chess Associations Voted in the meeting held in India.
  • He is India’s Grandmaster and 5-time World Chess Champion.

8. Prof. Ramadhar Singh

  • Prof Ramadhar Singh has been inducted into the US Heritage Wall of Fame.
  • He is a professor at Amrut Mody School of Management, Ahmedabad University.
  • He is an Indian Social Psychologist and has done much research on how humans have cognitive ability and dynamic thoughts.

9. James Marape

  • James Marape is elected as the New Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea.
  • He is elected for the 2nd term as the Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea.
  • He is the leader of the Pangu Party.

10. Gopal Vittal

  • Gopal Vittal is re-appointed as the Airtel Managing Director (MD) and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Bharti Airtel.
  • He is appointed for 5 years with the support of Stakeholders.

11. William Ruto

  • William Samoei Arap Ruto wins Kenya’s presidential poll.
  • He defeated his rival former Prime Minister Raila Odinga.
  • He will be succeeding 4th President Uhuru Kenyatta.
  • He is the former Deputy President of Kenya.

12. Rajkiran Rai

  • Rajkiran Rai is appointed as the Managing Director of the National Bank for Financing Infrastructure Development (NaBFID).
  • He will take the charge of MD on August 8, 2022, for a tenure of 5 years.
  • He previously served as the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Union Bank of India.

13. Shashi Tharoor

  • Shashi Tharoor to receive Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur.
  • It is the Highest Civilian Award in France.
  • The recognition comes after Tharoor surprised the officials of the embassy, consulates, Alliance Francaise and military attaches by delivering a speech in French last year.

14. Jeffrey Armstrong

  • Jeffrey Armstrong, Canadian Scholar is awarded the Indian Council for Cultural Relations Distinguished Indologist for 2021.
  • He is also known as Kavindra Rishi.
  • He is the founder of the VASA (Vedic Academy of Science & Arts).

15. Umesh Lalit

  • Umesh Lalit is appointed as the 49th Chief Justice of India.
  • He has replaced Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana (N V Ramana).
  • He was appointed by our President Droupadi Murmu.

16. Manisha Kalyan and Sunil Chhetri

  • Sunil Chhetri was named the 2021-2022 All India Football Federation (AIFF) Men’s Footballer of the year for the 7th time.
  • Manisha Kalyan bagged her maiden award for the 2021-22 season.
  • Sunil Chhetri and Manisha Kalyan are Indian footballers.

17. Sangeetha Abhayan

  • Kerala-based entrepreneur Sangeetha Abhayan won the World Women Entrepreneurs Award.
  • She is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of (shakthiewe Pvt. Ltd).
  • She was awarded for her handloom and handicrafts startups’ performance in tune with the United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals (SDG).

18. Aarya Walvekar

  • Aarya Walvekar, an Indian American has been crowned Miss India USA 2022 at the annual beauty pageant held in New Jersey, USA.
  • 74 contestants representing 30 US States participated
  • 2022 is the 40th anniversary of Miss India USA.

19. Gautam Adani

  • Gautam Adani becomes the World’s 3rd Richest Person with a Net Worth of USD 137 Billion.
  • He is the Chairman of Adani Group.
  • He overtook the Vuitton Chairman Bernard Arnault (France).

20. Angela Merkel

  • Angela Merker, former German Chancellor has been awarded the 2022 UNESCO Peace Prize.
  • She was awarded for her courageous decision in 2015 to welcome more than 1.2 million refugees from Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, and Eritrea.
  • She is Germany’s 1st female Chancellor.

21. Ananth Narayan Gopalakrishnan

  • Prof. Ananth Narayan Gopalakrishnan is appointed as the Whole Time Member of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI).
  • He is the 4th Whole Time Member of SEBI along with 3 other Whole-time members.
  • He will hold office for 3 years from the date he assumes charge of the post.

22. Dr. Krishnamurthy Subramanian

  • Dr. Krishnamurthy Subramanian is appointed as the Executive Director (India) at the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
  • He is currently working as a Professor of Finance at the Indian School of Business.
  • He is the former Chief Economic Adviser.

23. Samir V Kamat

  • Samir V Kamat takes charge as New Defense Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) Chairman and Secretary of the Department of Defence Research and Development (R&D).
  • He has succeeded Dr. G. Satheesh Reddy.
  • Prior to his appointment, Dr. Samir V Kamat was serving as the Director General of Naval Systems and Materials at DRDO.

24. Sourav Ganguly

  • Sourav Ganguly is appointed as the First Brand Ambassador of DreamSetGo.
  • He has also become the Super captain for the company DreamSetGo.
  • DreamSetGo is a premium sports and travel platform.
  • Ganguly is known as the “Maharaja of Indian Cricket”.

25. Deepak Kumar Lalla

  • Deepak Kumar Lalla is appointed as the New Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of SBI Securities.
  • He succeeded Naresh Yadav.
  • He previously served as the Head of the Wealth Management Business for the State Bank of India (SBI).

26. Kriti Sanon

  • Heads Up For Tails (HUFT) has announced the Bollywood actor Kriti Sanon as their first brand ambassador.
  • HUFT aims to help remove hunger and provide health, safety, and shelter for street animals.
  • Kriti Sanon is also a HUFT customer and an animal lover.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu