New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Nationalized Banks - At a Glance

Published on Thursday, September 15, 2016
Name Head-
Formation Nationalization Major Facts
Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Mumbai 1935 1949 Central Bank in India
State Bank of India (SBI) Mumbai 1955 Under SBI Act 1955 Imperial Bank was Renamed as SBI in 1955
Central Bank of India Mumbai 1911 1969 First Bank Started as totally owned by Indians
Bank of India Mumbai 1906 1969 One of the major nationalized bank in India
Union Bank of India (UBI) Mumbai 1919 1969 Mahatma Gandhi Inaguarted its head office in Mumbai has been listed on Forbes 2000
UCO Bank (Formally United Commercial Bank ) Kolkata 1943 1969 Established by GD Birla
United Bank of India Kolkata 1950 1969 Formed with the amalgamation of Comilla Banking Corp , Bengal Central Bank , Comilla Union Bank and Hooghly Bank
Canara Bank Bangalore 1906 1969 In 1985 , it acquired Lakshmi Commercial Bank as part of rescue operations .
Syndicate Bank Manipal 1925 1969 First Bank of start PIGMY DEPOSIT scheme by making daily collection of small saving from individual depositors
Punjab National Bank (PNB) New Delhi 1894 1969 3rd Largest bank in India by assets , Currently 2nd largest state –owned commercial bank
Indian Bank Chennai 1907 1969 Founded by Annamalai and Ramaswami Chettiar
Indian Overseas Bank (OBC) Chennai 1937 1969 It took over Bharat Overseas Bank in 2007
Dena Bank Mumbai 1938 1969 Was formed under the name devkaran Nanjee Banking Company Ltd Later name changed to Dena Bank Ltd.
Bank of Maharashtra Pune 1935 1969 It has achieved 100% core banking solutions of all its over 1510 branches
Allahabad Bank Kolkata 1865 1969 It is acknowledged as the oldest nationalized bank . In 1989 United Industrial Bank Ltd merged with it
Bank of Baroda (BOB) Baroda 1908 1969 Founded by Maharaji Sayajirao Gaekwad is the 3rd largest bank after SBI and PNB
Corporation Bank Mangalore 1906 1980 Changed its name from Canara Banking Corporation Ltd to Corporation Bank in 1972
Vijaya Bank Bangalore 1931 1980 Founded by AB Shetty become a scheduled bank in 1958
Oriental Bank of Commerce (OBC) New Delhi 1943 1980 Established by the Thapar Family one of the aggressive smaller banks with good track record
Andhra Bank Hyderabad 1923 1980 One of the first banks to start credit cord business in the country
Punjab & Sind Bank (PSB) New Delhi 1908 1980 Considered as one of the weak banks ; last among the nationalized banks to issue its shares to the public

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu