Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


ISRO- Key Points and History


The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is the space research and exploration agency of the government of India (GOI) headquartered at Bengaluru (Karnataka).

It aims to develop and sharpen space research and technology for national development. 
ISRO was formed in 1969 displacing the Indian national committee for space research (INCOSPAR) established in 1962 with the combined efforts of first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru and his close aide scientist Vikram Sarabhai, regarded widely as the Father of the Indian space programme.

Key Points and History
ISRO headquarters Bengaluru ( Karnataka)
Established in 1969
ISRO Chairman 2019 K. Sivan
Father of Indian space programme Vikram Sarabhai
The missile man of India APJ Abdul Kalam-
Commercial wing of ISRO ANTRIX
First Indian satellite ( other countries launch site) ARYABHATA in 1975
First Indian satellite (launch site in India) ROHINI in 1979
India’s first lunar probe launched using PSLV-XL CHANDRAYAN-1
India's first dedicated multi-wavelength space observatory ASTROSATIS
First flight of PSLV 1993
Join 40,000+ readers and get free notes in your email