Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

People in News: February 2020 PDF

Published on Monday, March 09, 2020

Jadav Payeng

  • Environmental activist, Jadav "Molai" Payeng has been awarded the 6th annual Swami Vivekananda Karmayogi award 2020.
  • He has been honoured for his efforts for creating a man-made forest through afforestation.
  • He is popularly known as the Forest Man of India.

Abhishek Singh

  • Diplomat Abhishek Singh has been appointed as the new Ambassador of India to the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. 
  • He has replaced Rajiv Kumar Napal.

Susan Daniel

  • Susan Daniel has been awarded the Sahitya Akademi’s Translation Prize for the year 2019.
  • She has been awarded for translating the Kannada novel ‘Kusumabale’ to English.

Maria Sharapova

  • Russian star tennis player, Maria Sharapova announced her retirement from the game.
  • She is one of the top tennis players and became the World No.1 in 2005.

Michael Miebach

  • Michael Miebach has been named as the new president and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Mastercards.
  • He has replaced Ajay Banga who has been appointed as the Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Abhay Kumar Singh

  • Abhay Kumar Singh has been appointed as the Chairman & Managing Director of State-run hydropower giant NHPC.
  • He will hold the position till August 31, 2022.
  • He has replaced Ratish Kumar.

Faure Gnassingbe

  • Faure Gnassingbe has been re-elected as the president of Togo.
  • Togo is a country in West Africa.

Hrithik Roshan

  • Actor Hrithik Roshan has been awarded the Best Actor award at the Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival Awards 2020 was held in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
  • He has been awarded for his movie "Super 30".

Adline Castelino

  • Mangalore’s Adline Castelino has won the LIVA Miss Diva Universe 2020 title.
  • Adline Castelino will represent India at Miss Universe pageant 2020.

Dr Niti Kumar

  • CDRI’s scientist Dr Niti Kumar has been honoured with the SERB (Science and Engineering Research Board) Women Excellence Award-2020 by the President Ram Nath Kovind in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.
  • The award was given during National Science Day Celebrations on February 28, 2020.
  • She has been awarded for her research on understanding the protein quality control machinery in human malaria parasite for exploration of alternative drug targets for malaria intervention.

Manoj Kumar

  • Actor Manoj Kumar has been felicitated by the World Book of Records (WBR), London, with the WBR Golden Era of Bollywood honour.
  • He has been awarded for highlighting patriotic, social and cultural feelings through his contribution to Indian Cinema.

Vijay Advani

  • Vijay Advani has been appointed as the new chairman of US-India Business Council's (USIBC) global board.

Sunil Gurbaxani

  • Sunil Gurbaxani has been appointed as the Managing Director and CEO of Dhanlaxmi Bank by the Reserve Bank of India.
  • Sunil has been appointed for a period of 3 years.

Ashraf Ghani

  • Ashraf Ghani has won the second term as Afghanistan president as an Independent Candidate.
  • He secured 50.64% votes in the election.

Supratim Bandyopadhyay

  • Supratim Bandyopadhyay has been appointed as the chairman of the Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA).
  • His tenure will be applicable for 5 years or till attaining 65 years of age, whichever earlier.
  • He has replaced Pankaj Jain.

Sanjay Kothari

  • Sanjay Kothari will be the new Chief Vigilance Commissioner (CVC).
  • At present, he is the Secretary to the President.
  • Kothari will replace K. V. Chowdary.

Bimal Julka

  • Bimal Julka will be appointed as the new Chief Information Commissioner in the Central Information Commission.
  • At present, he is the Information Commissioner. He is also the former Information and Broadcasting Secretary.
  • He has replaced Sudhir Bhargava.

Sachin Tendulkar

  • Indian former international cricketer Sachin Tendulkar’s 2011 World Cup-winning moment has been voted the Laureus Sporting Moment of 2000-2020 at the Laureus World Sports Awards 2020.
  • It was 20th edition of the award and was held at Berlin, Germany.

Barry O’Farrell

  • Barry O’Farrell has been appointed as Australia's next high commissioner to India.
  • He is the former NSW (New South Wales) premier.
  • He has succeeded Harinder Sidhu.

Radhakishan Damani

  • DMart’s Founder Radhakishan Damani became India’s 2nd richest person after Mukesh Ambani.
  • As per Forbes ‘Real-Time Billionaires’ Index, Damani has a net worth of $17.8 billion.

Rishi Sunak

  • Indian origin Rishi Sunak has been named new Chancellor of the Exchequer of the United Kingdom by Prime Minister Boris Johnson.
  • He has succeeded Pakistani-origin Sajid Javid.

Gita Sen

  • Indian feminist scholar and activist Gita Sen has won the prestigious Dan David Prize 2020 under “present” category.
  • She has been awarded for her path-breaking work in the fields of population policies, reproductive and sexual health, women’s rights, poverty, labour markets and global governance.

Manpreet Singh

  • Manpreet Singh Pawar became the first Hockey player to be awarded the FIH player of the year award.
  • He has been awarded for the year 2019.
  • He is the captain of India men’s national field hockey team.

Rajiv Bansal

  • Rajiv Bansal has been appointed as the Chairman & Managing Director of Air India.
  • He has succeeded Ashwani Lohani.

Arvind Kejriwal

  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) party leader Arvind Kejriwal became the Chief Minister of Delhi for the 3rd time.

Robin Singh

  • Former India all-rounder Robindra Ramnarine Singh has been appointed as the Director of Cricket of the UAE (United Arab Emirates).
  • He was appointed by Emirates Cricket Board after the dismissal of head coach Douglas Robert Brown.

Pullela Gopichand

  • Pullela Gopichand has received the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) Coaches Lifetime Achievement Award in Male Category of the year 2019.
  • The Chief National coach for the Indian Badminton team was awarded on the 3rd edition of International Olympics Committee Annual Awards.
  • He is the 1st Indian coach to be honoured with this Lifetime award by the Olympics Committee.

Manoj Das

  • Famous Odia and English writer Manoj Das has received the Mystic Kalinga Literary award.
  • The award recognizes and celebrates inspiring writers, poets and performers.

Philip Barton

  • Diplomat Philip Barton has been appointed as the next high commissioner of Great Britain to India.
  • He will replace Sir Dominic Anthony Gerard Asquith KCMG.

Vinod Shukla

  • Noted Hindi poet-novelist and 1999 Sahitya Akademi honouree Vinod Kumar Shukla has won the 1st Mathrubhumi Book of the Year award 2020.
  • He has been awarded for his translated book ‘Blue Is Like Blue'.

Shaktikanta Das

  • RBI governor Shaktikanta Das has been named the ‘Central Banker of the year 2020, Asia-Pacific’ award.
  • He has been named by the Banker magazine which is a British English-language monthly financial affairs publication owned by The Financial Times Ltd.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu