New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

People in News: August 2020 PDF

Published on Saturday, September 12, 2020

1. Satya Pal Malik

  • Satya Pal Malik has been appointed as the Governor of Meghalaya.
  • He has replaced Tathagata Roy.
  • Malik was the governor of Goa where he has been replaced by Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

2. Manoj Sinha

  • Manoj Sinha took oath as the new governor of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • He has replaced Girish Chandra Murmu who resigned on August 5.

3. Noor Inayat Khan

  • World War II spy of Britain, Noor Inayat Khan, became the first Indian-origin woman to be honoured with a memorial Blue Plaque.
  • This Blue Plaque has been provided by the English Heritage charity.

4. Vinay Tonse

  • Vinay M. Tonse has been appointed as the MD & CEO of SBI Funds Management.
  • He has replaced Ashwani Bhatia.
  • SBI Funds Management or SBI Mutual Fund is a joint venture between SBI and Amundi which is the largest asset manager of Europe.

5. Dwayne Bravo

  • West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has become the first bowler to take 500 wickets in T20 matches.
  • Bravo took his 500th wicket during the CPL match between St Lucia Zouks and Trinbago Knight Riders.
  • He took the wicket of Zouks’ Rahkeem Cornwall.

6. Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

  • Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, who is a Dutch author, has won International Booker prize 2020.
  • Rijneveld has been awarded the for their debut novel The Discomfort of Evening.
  • Rijneveld is the youngest author to win the award at age of 29.
  • Also, Rijneveld is the third author to get the award.

7. Arnold Spielberg

  • Computer pioneer and engineer, Arnold Spielberg died.
  • He was 103.
  • Arnold designed the GE-225 mainframe computer in the 1950s with Charles Propster.

8. James Anderson

  • James Anderson became the first fast bowler in history to take 600 test wickets.
  • Anderson is a fast bowler of England.

9. Neelkantha Bhanu Prakash

  • Neelkantha Bhanu Prakash has been named the fastest human calculator.
  • This has happened after he won a gold medal for India at the Mental Calculation World Championship at Mind Sports Olympiad.
  • The Olympiad was held in London.
  • Neelkantha is a student at St Stephen's College of Delhi.

10. G Satheesh Reddy

  • G Satheesh Reddy got an extension of 2 years in his tenure as the Chairman of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).
  • He is on the position since August 2018.

11. Jacques Kallis, Zaheer Abbas and Lisa Sthalekar

  • Zaheer Abbas, Jacques Kallis, and Lisa Sthalekar have been inducted into the ICC's Hall of Fame.
  • Zaheer Abbas is a former Pakistani cricketer.
  • Lisa Sthalekar is a former cricketer and captain of Australia's international women's cricket team.
  • While Jacques Kallis is a former South African cricketer.

12. Anand Mahindra, Shantanu Narayen

  • Anand Mahindra and Shantanu Narayen have been honoured with the 2020 Leadership Awards.
  • The award was given by the US-India Strategic Partnership Forum (USISPF).
  • They have been awarded for promoting US-India ties.
  • Anand Mahindra is the Chairman of Mahindra Group and Shantanu Narayen is the Chairman of Adobe.

13. Ashwani Bhatia

  • Ashwani Bhatia has been appointed as the Managing Director of State Bank of India (SBI).
  • He has succeeded P K Gupta.
  • Previously, he was the deputy managing director and chief executive officer of SBI Mutual Fund.

14. Rajiv Kumar

  • Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner of India.
  • He has succeeded Ashok Lavasa who has been appointed as the Vice-president of ADB.
  • Rajiv is the IAS officer of 1984 batch (Retired) from Bihar/Jharkhand cadre. He is a former finance secretary.

15. Keith Rowley

  • Keith Rowley became the Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
  • This is his second consecutive term as the Prime Minister. His tenure will be of 5 years.
  • He is from the ruling People's National Movement (PNM).

16. Francisco Asue

  • Francisco Pascual Eyegue Obama Asue has been appointed as the Prime Minister of Equatorial Guinea again.
  • It is his 3rd consecutive time as the Prime Minister of the country.

17. S S Mundra

  • Former RBI deputy governor S S Mundra has been appointed as the non-executive chairman of Indiabulls Housing Finance (IBH).
  • He joined the Indiabulls board as Independent Director in 2018.

18. Pradeep Kumar Joshi

  • Pradeep Kumar Joshi has been appointed as the chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).
  • UPSC conducts civil services examination in the country.
  • He has succeeded Arvind Saxena.

19. Hardayal Prasad

  • Hardayal Prasad has been appointed as the new MD and CEO of PNB Housing Finance.
  • He is a former SBI Card head.

20. Ajay Tyagi

  • SEBI Chairman Ajay Tyagi has been given an extension of 18 months.
  • Now he will remain on the post till 28.02.2022 or until further orders.

21. Sashidhar Jagdishan

  • RBI has approved the appointment of Sashidhar Jagdishan as the new MD and CEO of HDFC Bank.
  • He will replace Aditya Puri who will retire in October 2020.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu