Maha Shivratri Offer - Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

People in News: December 2020 PDF

Published on Wednesday, January 06, 2021

1. Harsh Vardhan

  • Harsh Vardhan, the Health and Family Welfare Minister, has been recently nominated to the board of the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI).
  • He will be a member of the GAVI board from 2021 to 2023.
  • He will represent the South East Area Regional Office/Western Pacific Regional Office in the board.

2. Lewis Hamilton

  • Lewis Hamilton has been awarded a knighthood in the 2021 New Year Honours list of the UK.
  • It is one of the highest honour of the United Kingdom.
  • In 2020, Hamilton equalled the seven F1 world championships record of Michael Schumacher.

3. Arya Rajendran

  • 21-year old Arya Rajendran became the youngest Mayor in India.
  • She was sworn in as the Mayor of Thiruvananthapuram Corporation.
  • She is a B.Sc 2nd-year student at Thiruvananthapuram's All Saints College.

4. Hemant Kumar Pandey

  • Scientist Hemant Kumar Pandey has been awarded the ''Scientist of the Year Award'' by DRDO.
  • He has been awarded for his contribution in developing various medicines, the most popular being drug Lukoskin.
  • Lukoskin is used for the treatment of leucoderma.

5. Virat Kohli

  • Indian Captain Virat Kohli has won two ICC Awards of the Decade - ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade and Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade.
  • Kohli is the only player with more than 10,000 ODI runs in the ICC awards period.

6. Vineet Agarwal

  • Vineet Agarwal took over as the new president of the Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM).
  • Vineet is the managing director of Transport Corporation of India Ltd (TCIL).
  • He has replaced Niranjan Hiranandani.

7. Ratan Tata

  • The Federation of Indo-Israel Chambers of Commerce (FIICC) has conferred the industrialist Ratan Tata with the "Global Visionary of Sustainable Business and Peace" title.
  • He has been given the title for promoting unity, sustainability and peace.
  • Ratan Tata has also been awarded the ASSOCHAM Enterprise of the Centenary Award by PM Modi for Tata Group.

8. Narendra Modi

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been awarded with the ‘Legion of Merit’ by the U.S.
  • He has been awarded for strengthening the US-India relations.
  • Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison were also awarded the Legion of Merit Award.

9. Shashi Shekhar Vempati

  • Shashi Shekhar Vempati has been chosen as the new Vice-President of the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU).
  • Vempati is the CEO of India's Public Broadcaster Prasar Bharti.
  • His tenure is of 3 years.

10. Vidyut Mohan

  • Indian Engineer Vidyut Mohan has won the ‘Young Champions of the Earth’ Award by the UN Environment Programme (UNEP).
  • He is the co-founder of an enterprise “Takachar” which helps the farmers to convert their farm residues into value-added chemicals like activated carbon on-site and earn extra money.
  • The enterprise also prevents the farmers from burning farm residue in open.

11. Ashraf Patel

  • Ashraf Patel has won the Social Entrepreneur of the Year award.
  • She is the co-founder of two organisations ComMutiny and Pravah which trains youth for leadership.

12. Carolina Araujo

  • Carolina Araujo of Brazil has won the Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians 2020.
  • After winning the award, she has become the first non-Indian to win the award.
  • Carolina is a Mathematician from the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), Brazil.

13. Joe Biden and Kamala Harris

  • Both Joe Biden and Kamala Harris have been named as the ‘2020 Person of the Year’ by the TIME magazine. 
  • Joe Biden will take over as the new President of the US after stepping down of Donald Trump and Kamla Harris will be the Vice-President.

14. Sheikh Sabah al-Khalid

  • Sheikh Sabah Al-Khalid has been re-appointed as the prime minister of Kuwait.
  • He has been appointed by Kuwait's Emir Sheikh Nawaf al-Ahmad al-Sabah.

15. Raj Kamal Jha

  • Raj Kamal Jha has won the Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2020.
  • He has been awarded the prize for his novel-The City and The Sea.
  • His book is based on the Nirbhaya rape and murder case.

16. Anil Soni

  • Anil Soni, an Indian-origin health expert, has been appointed as the first Chief Executive Officer of The WHO Foundation.
  • The WHO Foundation has been launched in May 2020 and is headquartered in Geneva.
  • The foundation works alongside the World Health Organisation.

17. Jehan Daruvala

  • Jehan Daruvala became the first driver from the country to win a Formula 2 race.

18. Uday Shankar

  • Entertainment and Media Executive Uday Shankar has been appointed as the president of FICCI for 2020-21.
  • He has replaced Sangita Reddy.
  • He is the outgoing Chairman of Star and Disney India and the President of The Walt Disney Company for the Asia Pacific.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu