Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


National Sports Awards 2019 - At A Glance

Dear Readers,
National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports by Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; 
  • Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; 
  • Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, 
  • Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and 
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and 
  • individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy
A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sports Journalists/Experts/Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for the sports award 2019 was headed by justice Mukundakam Sharma, Retired judge, Supreme Court.
Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons/ coaches/organizations: 

(i) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2019

S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1. Deepa Malik  Para-athletics
2. Bajrang Punia Wrestling

(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2019

S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1 Mohinder Singh Dhillon (regular category) Athletics
2 Sandeep Gupta (regular category) Table Tennis
3. Vimal kumar(regular category) Badminton
4. Manoj Kumar Wrestling
5. C Lalremsanga Archery
6. Arup Basak  Table Tennis
7. Nitten Kirrtane Tennis
8. Manuel Fredricks  Hockey
9. Sanjay Bhardwaj Cricket (Lifetime)
10. Rambir Singh Khokar  Kabaddi(Lifetime)
11. Mezban Patel Hockey (Lifetime)

(iii) Arjuna Awards 2019

S. No.Name of the sportspersonDiscipline
1Chinglensana Singh KangujamHockey (Midfielder)
2. Ajay ThakurKabaddi
3. Mohammed Anas YahiyaAthletics
4. Tajinder Pal Singh ToorAthletics
5. Swapna BurmanAthletics
6. Sundar Singh Gurjar Para Sports - Athletics
7.Ravindra JadejaCricket (Men) 
8.Poonam Yadav Cricket (Women) 
9.Sonia LatherBoxing
10.Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth Badminton
11.Pramod BhagatPara Sports - Badminton
12.S BhaskaranBodybuilding
13.Gurpreet Singh SandhuFootball
14.Simran Singh ShergillPolo
15.Anjum MoudgilShooting (Rifle)
16.Fouaad MirzaEquestrian
17.Gaurav Singh GillMotorsports
18.Pooja DhandaWrestling (Women)
19.Harmeet Rajul DesaiTable Tennis

(iv) Dhyan Chand Award 2019

S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1 C Lalremsanga Archery
2 Manoj Kumar Wrestling
3 Arup Basak Table Tennis
4 Nitten Kirrtane Tennis
5 Manuel Fredricks Hockey

(v) Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2019

S. No. Category Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar, 2019
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation and GoSports Foundation
2. Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility --
3. Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures --
4. Sports for Development Rayalaseema Development Trust

(vi) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2019

  • Panjab University, Chandigarh

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2019.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.
Join 40,000+ readers and get free notes in your email