Maha Shivratri Offer - Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

Noble Prize - Everything you need to know

Published on Thursday, March 05, 2015
Nobel Prize
Year of institution 1901
Founder Alfred Bernard Nobel
Date on which awarded December 10
Number of disciplines awarded (6) 1. Physics
2. Chemistry

3. Literature
4. Peace
5. Economics
6. Physiology or Medicine
  • It is the most coveted international award of the World.
  • It is supported by The Nobel Foundation which was set up in 1900 under the will of Alfred Bernard Nobel (1833-96).
  • It was instituted by the inventor of dynamite, Alfred Bernard Nobel (1833-96).
  • These awards are presented annually on December 10, death anniversary of the founder and is presented by Swedish King.
  • Apart from Economics, all other five categories have been given award since 1901. Economics Nobel Prize was instituted in 1967 and was first given in
  • 1969. It is called the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics.

Twice recipients of Nobel Prize

Same subjects Different subjects
Fredric Sanger Chemistry (1958) Linus Pauling Chemistry (1954)
Fredric Sanger Chemistry (1980) Linus Pauling Peace (1963)
John Bardeen Physics (1956) Marie Curie Physics (1903)
John Bardeen Physics (1972) Marie Curie Chemistry (1911)

Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Name Subject Year
Rabinder Nath Tagore Literature 1913
Dr. C.V. Raman Physics 1930
Dr. Hargobind Khurana Medicine 1968
Mother Teresa Peace 1979
Dr. S. Chandrashekhar Physics 1983
Dr. Amartya Sen Economics 1999
V.S. Naipaul Literature 2001
Kailash Satyarthi Peace 2014

List of Noble Prize 2014 Winners

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu