First Persons in India

Dear Readers,
As you all know that, in previous IBPS Clerk exams, questions were asked on the First Persons in India. So here we are posting a short note on First Persons in India which is very much important for upcoming bank exams.

First Persons in India

  1. President - Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  2. Prime-Minister - Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru
  3. Governor-General of Independent India - Lord Lewis Mountbatten
  4. Indian Governor-General of Independent India - Chakravarti  Rajgopalachari
  5. Speaker of Loksabha - Shri G.V. Mavalankar (15 May 1952- 27 February 1956).
  6. Vice-President - Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan
  7. Home Minister - Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
  8. Finance Minister of India - R. K. Shanmukham Chetty
  9. Governor of RBI - Sir Osborne Smith
  10. First Woman Chief Minister - Sucheta Kriplani
  11. Chief Election Commissioner - Sukumar Sen
  12. Chief Justice of Supreme Court - Justice Hiralal J. Kaniya
  13. Woman Governor - Sarojini Naidu
  14. Woman Speaker of Lok Sabha - Smt. Meira Kumar, 2009
  15. President of National Congress - Womesh Chandra Banerjee
  16. First President of Indian Science Congress - Sir Asutosh Mukherjee
  17. Foreigner Awardees’ Of Bharat Ratna - Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
  18. Nobel Prize Winner - Rabindra Nath Tagore
  19. First Lady Doctor - Anandibai Joshi
  20. Woman Awarded with ‘Bharat Ratna’ - Indira Gandhi
  21. Indian Who Won the Grammy Award - Pt. Ravi Shankar
  22. Woman Sahitya Akademi Award Winner - Amrita Pritam, 1956
  23. Woman To Receive Nobel Prize - Mother Teresa
  24. Won the Booker Prize - Arundhati Roy for her novel "The God of Small Things" (1997).
  25. Player awarded ‘Padam Bhusan’—C. K. Naidu
  26. Literature Who Was Awarded Murti Devi Purskar - C. K. Nagraj Rao (1993)
  27. Writer Who Was Awarded ‘Vyas Samman’ - Ramvilas Sharma
  28. Raman-Magsaysay Awardee - Acharya Vinoba Bhave
  29. Dadasaheb Phalke Award - Devika Rani (1969)
  30. Magsaysay Award - Vinoba Bhave, 1958
  31. Miss World - Reita Faria in 1966
  32. Miss Asia Pacific - Zeenat Aman in 1970
  33. Miss Universe - Sushmita Sen in 1994
  34. Miss Earth - Nicole Faria in 2010
  35. Sound Film - Alam Ara (1931) directed by Ardeshir Irani
  36. Colour Film - Kisan Kanya (1937), directed by Moti B. Gidvani
  37. First Viceroy of India : Lord Canning
  38. The first and the last Governor-general of Independent India : C Rajagopalachari
  39. First Education minister of India : Abul Kalam Azad
  40. First Speaker of the Lok Sabha : Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar
  41. First Indian Justice (President) at the International Court of Justice : Nagendra Singh
  42. First Commander-in Chief of Independent India : Generaal Kariappa
  43. First Field marshal of India :general Manekshaw
  44. First Muslim President of Indian National Congress : Badruddin Tyabji
  45. First Indian to be successful in ICS (Indian Civil Service) : Satyendranath Tagore
  46. First Indian who became the member of the British Parliament : Dadabhai Naoroji
  47. First Indian Pilot : J R D Tata
  48. First Indian Scientist who received Nobel Prize : C V Raman
  49. First Indian who was honoured with Bharat Ratna : Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  50. First Person who received Gyanpeeth Award : G Shankara Kurup
  51. First Indian who went to the space : Rakesh Sharma
  52. First Indian who crossed English Channel : Mihir Sen
Please share your views.

Updated on 23-01-2018

Smart Prep Kit for Banking Exams by Ramandeep Singh - Download here

Join 40,000+ readers and get free notes in your email


Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting. It's very difficult to answer every query here, it's better to post your query on