New Student User- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

National Housing Bank: Important Facts

Published on Thursday, January 05, 2017


The National Housing Bank (NHB) is an apex level financial institution catering to the housing sector in the country.
It was established on July 9, 1988.
It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Reserve Bank of India (RBI), was set up by an Act of Parliament in 1987.
NHB has been established with an objective to operate as a principal agency to promote housing finance institutions both at local and regional levels.
It is headquartered in New Delhi and has offices in all major cities.


 “To Promote inclusive expansion with stability in housing finance institutions”.


 To yoke and promote the market potentials to serve the housing needs of all segments of the population with the focus on low and moderate-income housing.


1. The main and furthermost objective of NHB is to provide financial support to the poorest segment of the country at reasonable price.
2. To promote a chain of dedicated housing finance institutions to sufficiently serve various regions and different income groups.
3. To increase resources for the sector and channelise them for housing.
4. To make housing loan more affordable to the poorest section of the society.
5. To manage and supervise the day-to-day activities of housing finance companies.
6. To encourage augmentation of supply of buildable land and also construction materials for housing and to enhance the housing stock in the country.
7. To encourage public agencies to emerge as facilitators and suppliers of serviced land, for housing.

Main Functions

1. To promote housing finance institutions at both regional and local levels.
2. To regulate all the housing finance institutions for smooth and proper functioning.
3. As an apex institution, It can provide financial support to housing finance institutions whenever they needed. 

Board of Directors

1. Shri Sriram Kalyanaraman
Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer

2. Shri R. Gandhi
Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India

3. Shri Pankaj Jain, IAS, 
Joint Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Finance

4. Shri Rajiv Ranjan Mishra, IAS, 
Joint Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

5. Shri Malay Shrivastava, IAS
Principal Secretary,
Urban Development and Environment Department,
Government of Madhya Pradesh

6. Shri Sadakant, IAS
Principal Secretary,
Housing and Urban Planning Department,
Government of Uttar Pradesh.

NHB has 9 departments

1. NHB Residex Cell,
2. Regulation and Supervision,
3. Refinancing operations,
4. Direct finance operations,
5. Enabling processes,
6. Information Technology,
7. Resource mobilisation and management,
8. Development and risk management and
9. Board and CMD secretariat.

Quick Facts      

Name of Apex institution  
National Housing Bank(NHB)
Established on
July 9, 1988
New Delhi
Committee established for its establishment 
   C. Rangarajan

   MD and CEO 
Shri Sriram Kalyanaraman
Official website     
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu