New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Important Committees in Indian Polity

Published on Saturday, April 06, 2019

Acworth Committee:

  • Year-1921
  • Based on the recommendations of Acworth Committee the Railway Budget was separated from the General Budget in 1921.

Different committees of the Constituent Assembly:

Name of the committee Chairman of the committee
Union Powers Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
Drafting Committee Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
Union Constitution Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
Provincial Constitution Committee Sardar Patel
Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas Sardar Patel
Rules of Procedure Committee Dr. Rajendra Prasad
Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee J.B. Kripalani
Minorities Sub-Committee H.C. Mukherjee
North-East Frontier Tribal Areas and Assam Excluded & Partially Excluded Areas Sub- Committee   Gopinath Bardoloi
Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas (Other than those in Assam) Sub-Committee A.V. Thakkar
States Committee (Committee for Negotiating with States) Jawaharlal Nehru
Steering Committee Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Committees after constitution came into force:

Dhar Commission:

  • Year-1948
  • Purpose: to study the feasibility of organizing states on Linguistic basis.
  • Also known as Linguistic Provinces Commission.
  • Recommendation- It recommended the reorganisation of states on the basis of administrative convenience rather than linguistic factor.

JVP Committee:

  • Year-1948
  • Members- Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallahbhai Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya
  • Recommendation- It rejected language as the basis for reorganisation of states.

Fazl Ali Commission:

  • Year-1953
  • Members-Fazal Ali, M Panikkar and H N Kunzru
  • Recommendation- It broadly accepted language as the basis of reorganisation of states. But, it rejected the theory of ‘one language–one state’

Balwant Rai Mehta Committee:

  • In January 1957, the Government of India appointed a committee to examine the working of the Community Development Programme (1952) and the National Extension Service (1953) and to suggest measures for their better working.
  • The committee submitted its report in November 1957 and recommended the establishment of the scheme of ‘democratic decentralisation’, which ultimately came to be known as Panchayati Raj.

Santhanam Committee on Prevention of Corruption1 (1962–64):

  • The Committee on Prevention of Corruption with parliamentarian K.Santhanam as the Chairman, four other MPs and two senior officers as members, was appointed by the Government of India in 1962
  • Based on the recommendations of Santhanam Committee Central Vigilance Commission was appointed in 1964
  • The establishment of the CBI was recommended by the Santhanam Committee on Prevention of Corruption (1962 -1964).

Rural-Urban Relationship Committee:

  • The Rural-Urban Relationship Committee (1963–66) headed by A P Jain recommended that small town area committees should be merged with the panchayati raj institutions to avoid multiplicity in the pattern of local bodies

Rajamannar Committee:

  • Year-1969
  • Appointed by- Tamil Nadu Government
  • Purpose: To examine the entire question of Centre–state relations and to suggest amendments to the Constitution so as to secure utmost autonomy to the states.

Tarkunde Committee:

  • Tarkunde Committee was appointed in 1974 by Jaya Prakash Narayan (JP) during his “Total Revolution” movement. This unofficial committee submitted its report in 1975.

Swaran Singh Committee:

  • Year-1976
  • Purpose- To make recommendations about fundamental duties
  • Recommendation- It suggested the incorporation of eight Fundamental Duties in the Constitution but the 42nd Constitutional Amendment Act (1976) included ten Fundamental Duties.

Ashok Mehta Committee:

  • In December 1977, the Janata Government appointed a committee on panchayati raj institutions under the chairmanship of Ashok Mehta. It submitted its report in August 1978 and made 132 recommendations to revive and strengthen the declining panchayati raj system in the country.

Hanumantha Rao Committee:

  • Hanumantha Rao Committee on district level planning, appointed by Planning Commission in September 1982.

G V K Rao Committee:

  • The Committee on Administrative Arrangement for Rural Development and Poverty Alleviation Programmes under the chairmanship of G.V.K. Rao was appointed by the Planning Commission in 1985.

L M Singhvi Committee:

  • In 1986, Rajiv Gandhi government appointed a committee on ‘Revitalisation of Panchayati Raj Institutions for Democracy and Development’ under the chairmanship of L M Singhvi

Ram Nandan Committee:

  • The Committee was appointed to identify the creamy layer among the OBCs. It submitted its report in 1993, which was accepted.

Indrajit Gupta committee:

  • In 1998, the BJP-led Government appointed an eight-member committee on state funding of elections under the chairmanship of Indrajit Gupta, a former Home Minister. The committee submitted its report in 1999. It upheld the argument for introduction of state funding of elections. It stated that state funding of elections is constitutionally and legally justified and is in public interest.

Verma Committee:

  • Year-1999
  • Purpose-To The Government of India appointed the committee “to operationalise the suggestions to teach Fundamental Duties to the citizens of India” in the year 1998 under the chairmanship of Justice J.S. Verma.
  • Result-It identified the existence of legalprovisions for the implementation of some of the Fundamental Duties

National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution:

  • The National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution (NCRWC) was set up by a resolution of the Government of India in 20001. The 11-member Commission was headed by M.N. Venkatachaliah, the former Chief Justice of India2

Group of Interlocutors for Jammu and Kashmir:

  • The Group of Interlocutors for Jammu and Kashmir was appointed by the Central Government in October 2010 under the Chairmanship of the eminent journalist Dileep Padgaonkar. It was tasked to hold-wide – ranging discussions with all sections of opinion in Jammu and Kashmir in order to identify the political contours of a solution to the problems of the state

Committees related to elections:

  • Goswami Committee on Electoral Reforms (1990)
  • Vohra Committee on the Nexus between Crime and Politics (1993)
  • Indrajit Gupta Committee on State Funding of Elections (1998)
  • National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution (2000-2002). It was headedby M.N. Venkatachaliah.
  • Second Administrative Reforms Commission of India Report on Ethics in Governance (2007). It was headed by Veerappa Moily.
  • Tankha Committee was appointed in 2010 to look into the whole gamut of the election laws and electoral reforms.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu